Fordmods Logo

replacing a idle speed control motor. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: replacing a idle speed control motor.
Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 441

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi there..

I was wondering if someone could please confirm the correct procedure for replacing the idle speed control motor on a ED 6cyl engine..

Is it just a matter of remove and replace or do you need to reset something as well?

Also, I found them on ebay for approx $142 incl ship..

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/FORD-EA-EB-ED-6c-IDLE-SPEED-AIR-CONTROL-STEPPER-MOTOR_W0QQitemZ310101585640QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Car_Parts_Accessories?hash=item310101585640&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A1%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318


Apart from Genuine Ford has anyone found them elsewhere cheaper?

Many thanks in advance
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 12:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Just take out the two bolts holding it on and unplug it. Maybe replace the gasket if it needs it.

Thats all there is to it.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 12:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 824

Joined: 10th May 2007

Ride: Xr6 Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mate thats probs the best your going to get. ford will charge an arm and a leg. i paid 120 off ebay a while back. it is exactly the same as the genuine ford unit apart from there is no ford stamped on it. remove the wiring loom plugs. there are to 8 mm screws either side of the unit (where 2 holes are) undo them, there will be a gasket under it remove the gasket some maybe left behind remove all stuck gasket with throttle body cleaner ect. maybe sure it is a clean surface. replace with gasket supplied with new unit. screw down tight connect wiring loom. all done start engine.

 

_________________


Previous cars


1995 ef futura - nothing special
2003 xr6 turbo 5 -speed 307rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 12:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 441

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks for the quick response's!

I just wasn't sure as my problem is the idle
would die when the A/C was switched on..

My mechanic adjusted the idle but said
I needed a new idle control motor..Surpisingly,his diagnostic computer had no software for the E series...

A easy job,thanks again! :D
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:24 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names