Fordmods Logo

Reset ecu after installing SS induction? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:01 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 117

Joined: 17th Aug 2010

Ride: BA XT '02

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

ok so i've jsut purchased an SS induction big mouth for $150 and was wondering if i needed to reset my ecu or anything after installation... my friend told me i should, anyone else?

Image

 

_________________

Holden = Hope Our Luck Doesn't End Now

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

To Get The SS Full Potential Its Probably Advisable To Reset The ECU

but you dont have to

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

Don't bother. It won't change anything!

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Oct 2009

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Did you even notice any added performance with the ss induction
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

ya any change with fuel economy or power ?

i would like to know if its worth it or not

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:54 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 117

Joined: 17th Aug 2010

Ride: BA XT '02

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

uhh well ive ONLY got the ss induction mod atm on with k&n filter so i didnt feel MUCH difference but it did add an induction note, my friend kept asking if i had an exhaust mod on or someting :s

 

_________________

Holden = Hope Our Luck Doesn't End Now

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1149

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: 2013 Ford Focus ST

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

Nice mate, I got the growler kit but i was thinking i should get the big mouth intake and plumb that into the growler lol, get rid of the xr6 turbo intake coz the big mouht is huge!!!

 

_________________

I hate arriving at my destination as then I have to get out of my car!

New Build Thread
the-garage-f53/the-beast-v2-0-phil-s-2013-ford-focus-st-t122703.html

Old Build Thread
the-garage-f53/phil-s-bf-sr-gt-build-thread-lots-of-pics-t98705.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:09 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 117

Joined: 17th Aug 2010

Ride: BA XT '02

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

yeah big mouth is hugeeee it's pretty awesome. i got it for cheap though cause my mate couldnt use it in his xr6 turbo :s

 

_________________

Holden = Hope Our Luck Doesn't End Now

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1149

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: 2013 Ford Focus ST

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah exactly its too pricy just for intake scoop, i guess there are other restrictions in the intake anyways that should be addressed

 

_________________

I hate arriving at my destination as then I have to get out of my car!

New Build Thread
the-garage-f53/the-beast-v2-0-phil-s-2013-ford-focus-st-t122703.html

Old Build Thread
the-garage-f53/phil-s-bf-sr-gt-build-thread-lots-of-pics-t98705.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Reset ecu after installing SS induction?
Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:50 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 117

Joined: 17th Aug 2010

Ride: BA XT '02

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

yeahh bit expensive for RRP hehe.. well i wont be able to use the new ss induction i got anyways. car has a knocking sound... looks like i need a new engine :|

 

_________________

Holden = Hope Our Luck Doesn't End Now

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names