Fordmods Logo

resetting ecu 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: resetting ecu
Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:45 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 11th Jul 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

how is the computer reset on a ed?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2256

Joined: 5th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 5 Star Boxcar

Location: blu mtns
NSW, Australia

disconnect the battery for 10 mins or so

 

_________________

Kezz's 5sp Box Car ---> RPD enhanced with a bunch of other stuff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: thanks
Posted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 11:12 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 11th Jul 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

thank you
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

This has been covered so many times. All that happens when you disconnect the battery is the KAM (keep alive memory) is erased and then it runs rough for about a week, in the end you are right back to start before erasing it. So basically its a waste of time and had no benifit. Also by disconnecting the battery the throttle calibration has to be done otherwise the gear changes if automatic could be harsh.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 12:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 41

Joined: 26th Jul 2005

Ride: AU Futura

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

NOTE DO NOT TOUCH THE ACCELLERATOR DURING ANY PERIOD OF THE ADAPTIVE PROCESS.
The correct way to set idle speed after battery disconnection is:
1. Run engine until operating temp reached and thermostat opened.
2. The engine should then be idled for approx 1 minute in each of the following conditions (total idling time approx 4 minutes)
3. Neutral with all electrical loads OFF.
4. Neutral with Air conditioning ON.
5 Drive with all electrical loads OFF.
6. Drive with Air conditioning ON.

After all this has been done then proceed to go on and to do these steps which actually set the TPS values;

5. *To set the closed throttle reference position, place the transmission
in Drive, Air con off, and let the engine idle for a minimum of 1 minute.
6. Next, set the wide-open throttle reference position by turning the
engine off- but leave the ignition switch to the "ON," position, ie;Idiot lights on etc, then press the accelerator
pedal to the floor and hold it their for 1 minute, minimum.
7. Then Place the gear selector to Park and switch off the ignition.
8. Drive the vehicle and check for proper shifting patterns.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Someone please write this all up properly and make it sticky. Lets get all the general questions like this and the little spanner question and put it all in here.

eg

REMOVING THE LITTLE SPANNER ON THE DASH
Turn car to ON position. Press and hold the reset button for 10 sec

and so on

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 4:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Great idea but there is still people that ask the same old questions like "what oil should i use" :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

or what coolant is the best for ????

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 9:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 8

Joined: 8th Jun 2006

Ride: BA Ltd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

and questions like "whats the procedure for a manual"..... Anyone?

 

_________________

BA LTD 5.4

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 9:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 8

Joined: 8th Jun 2006

Ride: BA Ltd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

and questions like "whats the procedure for a manual"..... Anyone?

 

_________________

BA LTD 5.4

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: resetting ecu
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:04 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 61

Posts: 156

Joined: 14th Feb 2009

Ride: ford falcon

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

How many sensors are there in an xf EFI model? Are they expensive to buy? Are they easy to change? If you change them..all of them, do you have to do anything so the computer "knows" that it has been done? And has anyone done this before, better or worse? Do sensors have a "life expectancy" ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re:
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 212

Joined: 9th Oct 2006

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EA SPAC 1990

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

DVL40L wrote:
and questions like "whats the procedure for a manual"..... Anyone?


I second that

 

_________________

WHO EVER SAID "TWOS COMPANY THREES A CROWD" OBVIOUSLY NEVER HAD A THREESOME

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: resetting ecu
Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

how about a FAQ i6 section..that way the forum doesn't get infested with sticky's at the top of the screen and threads don't disappear as quickly to page 2.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names