Fordmods Logo

Revs hanging on EF I6 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 35 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Revs hanging on EF I6
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 5:11 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 24

Joined: 22nd Jun 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Gday,
Ive got a bit of a problem with my ef 6. While giving my car a rev with the clutch in or while changing gears, the revs hang and take ages to go down. The car is also making a whistling noise while the revs are coming down. I thought this was my pod but it isnt.Ive had a check of all the hoses and they seem ok. Also changed the idle control thingy on the top of the BBM and put a new gasket and it didnt make a difference. Also cleaned out the throttlebody and changed the O2 sensor. Does anyone have any ideas what it could be?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 5:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

possibly a leaking intake manifold gasket. Try tightening all the bolts.

I had the same rev hang problem since converting to manual, and nothing seemed to fix it. Was solved with a Chiptorque chip and custom tune, now doesnt rev hang at all.

im not saying this is the only way to fix it, but i was out of ideas by then.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I still have the same problem, have changed all sensors and still does it.

Havent tried looking at manifold loose/leaking. That sounds like a good start.

Andrew.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:36 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 26

Joined: 9th Jul 2007

Ride: ef coon DOHC turbo

Location: mt gambier
SA, Australia

when i first changed my ef to manual my had the rev hang you were talking about. after a tank or so of fuel the problem has seemed to go away

 

_________________

EF XR6 DOHC turbo 6 speed manual.
Process west intake, 60 lb injectors, Bosch 044
Bf dash and interior, el typhoon kit
build thread
the-garage-f53/not-another-dohc-into-e-series-thread-t107405.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

When i did my auto to manual, i did the resistor trick, and it DID NOT DO IT.

But as soon as i went to a manual ECU, IT DID.

Are there differences in sensors from auto to manual???

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Its how the ISC works. Disconnect it, turn the idle up a 100 rpm or so (for cold starts), and see how you go.
Thats how I've been running mine for a fair while now.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

So does that mean a faulty isc? I have changed mine, still happens.

So yours runs ok without it?

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Doesnt really mean faulty ISC, its just how they work, and after a bit of use theyre just tooo slow.

I dont think I would have been running it for months now if it wasnt fine..

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Cool, i'll give it a shot tomorrow.

BTW, sorry for hijacking thread, saves creating a nother on same topic

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 298

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 03 BA

Location: st marys
NSW, Australia

mine hangs to and it is factory manual, was told it is because of competuer an back pressure , it seems to be bit better sence i put headetrs on an drop last muffler.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

krisisdog wrote:
Its how the ISC works.


your correct there. The ecu gives a signal to the isc to keep the revs up between gear changes to help dispose of unburnt fuel for emission reasons, amongst other things like keeping it from dropping revs too quickly & stalling.

Mine was really bad though, to the point if you dropped it down a gear & let the clutch out it would speed up !!

And yes, blocking off the isc completely and bumping up the base idle enough so it doesnt idle too high when warm, and doesnt idle to cranky when cold.... seems to do the trick. But when i fitted a large cam, it didnt work for me anymore cause the cold start idle was non existant
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Do i have to block it off aswell as diconnect it?

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I just have it disconnected, but you could make up a plate without too much hassle.

My original ISC used to hold revs for a touch too long when changing gears, but once I installed the ripshifter it was hopeless.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

PIMP_LTD wrote:
Do i have to block it off aswell as diconnect it?


you could do either, but i prefer to leave the plug connected and block it off so the ecu see's its still there....... but thats just me :)

In EA cfi falcons, the ecu will actually retard timing if the isc is disconnected

Last edited by FordFairmont on Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thats a good point, as obviously the ecu would bring up a fault code if not there?

Also, how does this affect aircon? not much i guess?

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:14 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names