Fordmods Logo

rf timming still out 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: rf timming still out
Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 9:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 3rd May 2008

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hi al
Still having problems with my ef there must be away to adjust the timming I short the pins on the conrctor under the dash which puts it into Test mode mode then what

??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 10:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

you can not adjust the timing on 6cyl EF falcons.

IF the timing is wrong you have other issues that need to be sorted

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 9:07 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 44

Joined: 9th Jul 2006

Ride: xr6

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

timing all controled by the ECU , computer adjusts the timing depending on egnine conditions
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 1:11 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

thats exactly right ^^ what they said.

its possible that your crankshaft pulley / harmonic balancer have slipped, which will cause incorect timing as the ecu uses a toothed wheel on this pulley to get its timing from.

there are a few other things as well.

why do u want to adjust it?? is there an issue?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 17, 2008 11:44 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 44

Joined: 9th Jul 2006

Ride: xr6

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

whats the problem exacly ? you might have a bad sensor or maybe your coil pack is playing up
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 17, 2008 11:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

xpression wrote:

its possible that your crankshaft pulley / harmonic balancer have slipped, which will cause incorect timing as the ecu uses a toothed wheel on this pulley to get its timing from.


That wont be it cause if the balancer slips, its just the outside rubber with the mark on it, meaning the inner sensor pickup is unaffected.

But having said that, if a cam is setup against the slipped mark then that could be an issue
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: johnnyeHCF and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:31 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names