Fordmods Logo

running in new engine 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: running in new engine
Posted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:31 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 131

Joined: 29th Jun 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AUII Futura

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hi guys, getting a brand new engine installed in my AU tomorow. just wondering how i should be running it in?
its a 0Km stock engine bought as a spare from a taxi firm that never used it.
cheers, adam
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 844

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Here's a link about running in motors.

Penrite Running In Oil is available from Autobarn, and Bursons sell their own brand. Whatever you do, don't use synthetic or friction-modified oils as the rings need friction to bed in under load. After the engine is run in, it's OK to use synthetic oils, etc.

post1036846.html#p1036846

 

_________________

AU2 XR8 with Raptor VL, ported Yella Terra GT40P heads, Scorpion 1.6 RRs, XE264HR-14 Comp Cam, ceramic coated Hurricane Headers, 60lb injectors, Walbro 255, 200cfi cats, 3" exhaust & Snow Performance water methanol injection

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ran in a tight 351 ci on Penrite running in oil, stuck to instructions, always used Penrite after running in and had the best motor I have ever had. Did 300K+ and NEVER had an issue with it.

Don't run it in at a constant speed. vary your (engine) speed, and load it up every now and then to help bed the rings. Depends how tight it is, but a lot of engines (new) can be driven "normally" w/out special running in procedures.

I also used Nulon anti friction stuff (E20 I think it was called, for new engines) AFTER about 2000kms. I don't know if it helped, but I never had a problem with the engine. The oil pressure was 120 psi when new, and 100 psi when I sold it and as I said it was 300K or thereabouts of normal driving.

read the link :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:54 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 131

Joined: 29th Jun 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AUII Futura

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

awesome guys! thanks for the help. hopefully it'll be running tomorow (after 13 long hours in the workshop today) i'll keep you posted as to how it goes. cheers, adam
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

that link is spot on, only thing i'd add is prime the oil pump with a drill before you put the cam angle sensor in, do it with rocker cover off to verify oil is getting to top end.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 4:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 844

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
that link is spot on, only thing i'd add is prime the oil pump with a drill before you put the cam angle sensor in, do it with rocker cover off to verify oil is getting to top end.


I heard some people use a cordless drill, extension & socket on the oil pump drive to prime the motor. I just cranked the motor over without spark plugs till the oil light went out and kept it going for another 5-10 seconds.

What's your thoughts Steady ED?

 

_________________

AU2 XR8 with Raptor VL, ported Yella Terra GT40P heads, Scorpion 1.6 RRs, XE264HR-14 Comp Cam, ceramic coated Hurricane Headers, 60lb injectors, Walbro 255, 200cfi cats, 3" exhaust & Snow Performance water methanol injection

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 131

Joined: 29th Jun 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AUII Futura

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

finished up yesterday on the engine, anxiously started it, cranked a few times then started beautifully :) followed all instructions and still doing so. 50k's down.. 950 to go. can't wait 'til i'm done though
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:16 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Shortshift wrote:
Steady ED wrote:
that link is spot on, only thing i'd add is prime the oil pump with a drill before you put the cam angle sensor in, do it with rocker cover off to verify oil is getting to top end.


I heard some people use a cordless drill, extension & socket on the oil pump drive to prime the motor. I just cranked the motor over without spark plugs till the oil light went out and kept it going for another 5-10 seconds.

What's your thoughts Steady ED?

the drill on the oil pump drive is probably the more "correct" way because you are getting oil to everything before you start spinning them...
but if it's not anything special it's probably fine to do it your way.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 4:23 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 131

Joined: 29th Jun 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AUII Futura

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

got one problem guys, don't think i've stuffed anything but its just running a little rough wen i accelerate :( . just started today (little bit yesterday)... i did fill up 3/4 tank yesterday (91ron from BP) and also added injector cleaner? its intermitent and doesnt always happen. any ideas?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 844

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Except for lawnmowers, I personally don't like using 91RON. Engines seem to run smoother on 98RON.

Did you install new spark plugs and leads with the engine changeover? Check your plug leads are fitting correctly to the coilpack & spark plugs.

 

_________________

AU2 XR8 with Raptor VL, ported Yella Terra GT40P heads, Scorpion 1.6 RRs, XE264HR-14 Comp Cam, ceramic coated Hurricane Headers, 60lb injectors, Walbro 255, 200cfi cats, 3" exhaust & Snow Performance water methanol injection

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: running in new engine
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 131

Joined: 29th Jun 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AUII Futura

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

new spark plugs and checked resistance of leads, all well sweet. will check the connections to the coilpack and sparkplugs today.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:14 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names