Fordmods Logo

Running without MAP sensor 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Running without MAP sensor
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 11:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Are there any issues to doing this? My LPG has been s**t me up the wall and I read in one of the bad idle threads to unplug it and see if it improves. So this morning for the trip to work I unplugged it and all was well with it! :D

Anyway, will it be fine to run arouind with it unplugged until I get a replacement?

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 11:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

If the cars running fine no reason not - I'm guessing on petrol it'd be running rich though. Can you hang on until Saturday? If so I can do you a deal on a new one - from memory looking at about $100.00.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 12:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Yah can wait! Just wanted to make sure it wasn't going to f**k something else up with it :P

I'll drop in before work on Saturday, got a few things I need!!

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 1:04 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 77

Joined: 17th Feb 2008

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Thats the same problem I had on my EL last week, I ran it without the map sensor It was better but a little bit rough on idle, put one on from and EB and now it runs fine

 

_________________

"I believe that Human beings and fish can peacefully coexist" - George W Bush

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Running without MAP sensor
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 8:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 850

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Forest Lake
QLD, Australia

mr_sperm1 wrote:
Are there any issues to doing this? My LPG has been s**t me up the wall and I read in one of the bad idle threads to unplug it and see if it improves. So this morning for the trip to work I unplugged it and all was well with it! :D

Anyway, will it be fine to run arouind with it unplugged until I get a replacement?


replace it asap, but if it runs without it, then fine. consider getting one from a wrecker, be cheap as and will get you out of trouble for a while.
Consider resetting ECU afterwards

 

_________________

Regards,
Punnisher_42
_____________
2003 BA Fairmont - Stock standard
1994 U13 cough Nissan Cough Bluebird

Favorite Quotes:
"Sportwagon = homo-erotic wank-fest." - downingj

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: map
Posted: Mon May 26, 2008 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 652

Joined: 31st Aug 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 08 BF Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Would change map asap, otherwise watch consumption it will go through the roof :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Well, map sensor was changed with new one. it began playing up immediately. So I pulled the battery off while i was at work (8ish hours) and it still played up. Unplugged map again, and it runs great. Except for the 1500RPM idle...

So, any ideas on what could cause the LPG to be such a b**ch?

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:46 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 77

Joined: 17th Feb 2008

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

It might be a good idea to monitor consumption and see how dramatic the change is, if it doesnt change by much you should be able to run it without the MAP sensor permenantly, not too sure if it does any damage though. it looks like its sending bum readings too the ECU, dunno why tho

 

_________________

"I believe that Human beings and fish can peacefully coexist" - George W Bush

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

id be more concerned about it running lean or something, espesially on lpg.

its one of the primary sensors on the engine so you kinda need it

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Looks like it was the coil causing the rough running - it decided to die yesterday morning. And its still there cause the socket snapped in half :lol:

Will post more once I get it running again!

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:06 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names