Fordmods Logo

s**t accelaration 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: s**t accelaration
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

hey when my car is in drive and i put for foot down it seems like it isnt dropping back a gear or two and i am getting s**t accelaration, any 1 know why? also my speedo isnt working.

Daniel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

My car wasnt getting much acceleration when i planted it and the mechanic told me that the kickdown cable had to be adjusted.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 103

Joined: 22nd Aug 2005

Ride: 92 EB Ford Falcon

Location: Thornlie
WA, Australia

this is in "Power"Mode i take it?

 

_________________

Image
Image
The Big Guy in That EB :P
www.CruizinEB.com

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 462

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Ride: EA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check that ur getting full throttle

 

_________________

Ford Falcon EA Naturally Aspirated 4.0L i6
13.797 @ 157.16km/h (Limiter Bounce)

1/4 Mile Video

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 775

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XT Series 2

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

yep sounds like the kickdown cable.

 

_________________

Stage 1 stereo install done. Pics in audio section.
Next step is probably a nice exhaust or stage 2 stereo.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Do ED XR6 still have "kickdown" cables???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3277

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Ronald Mcdonald Mobile

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

nope they are electronic

 

_________________

Gooooone - Eb2 Coon - 143RWKW
Now - Mazda MX5 with HKS Supercharger 190RWKW
Crescent Motorsport Liverpool - 9600 6229

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

I thought kick down cables where only used on the older style transmissions. Arn't the shifts controlled by the Auto's ECU now days?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2098

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: egas bf xt

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

Maybe transmission is in limp home mode? Would explain no kick back at least anyway....

 

_________________

I can see through wooden doors.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

inbibitor switch
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

i'd be thinking limp-home mose as the speedo's not working either. check your fuses for a start.

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2288

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I had a problem with my EB that the speedo would cut out randomly and when the speedo would cut out it would send the car into limp mode. Limp mode keeps the car in 3rd gear and doesnt change at all. Once you get the speedo fixed it should fix the rest.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:30 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 67

Joined: 26th Jan 2006

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Its most likely that you have a stuffed speedo sender, or that the gear has broken off the end of the sender. This would explain the lack of speedo, and since this signal is required by the ECU to control the Auto box it has put it into limp home mode, you should also be finding that even at a set of lights where the car is stopped its not in 1st gear, and doesn't change, just takes off VERY slowly as its locked in 3rd. A new sender/gear/wiring (depending on the cause) will fix both problems.

Justin
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 6:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

ok thanks guys this is really helpful, just some questions how much is a speedo send and where do i get them from and is it hard to fix myself?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

any one?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:39 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names