Fordmods Logo

saturated dizzy!! 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

Post subject: saturated dizzy!!
Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:13 am 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Ford Fairmont Ghia

New Zealand

Hey guys i'm Matt n i'm new to the site and i'm hoping to get advice on the best way to get the distributor out of my 94 ED Fairmont? About 3 weeks ago on a sunny day at mount Maunganui i decided to wash my pride and joy and degrease engine at the same time. All was good, until i sprayed all the degreaser off and then went to start my Ford and was welcomed by my Ford violently shaking and with a closer inspection, realized there was also water bubbling out of the spark plugs. The next day after driving it and ford stil sick and driving on what it seems is half its cylinders i took it to local mechanic and after taking one quick look and listening to engine, he suggested to pull out dizzy and dry it out. Easy, wel maybe so but I've never worked on cars before but im keen as but will need some advice and a bit of helpful direction along the way please if posible. The Dizzy seems to be lying right beneath the manifold and the fuel rail etc, do i have to take all this off to get to it as it seems logical to do so, or is there a much easier way??! Much appreciated guys/galz, thanks!! :)

Post subject: Re: saturated dizzy!!
Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:35 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

WA, Australia

welcome to fordmods mate.
well i rekon the mounting spot on these motors for the dizzy is pathetic. wich is why i only buy v8s :D .
anyway. yes it can be removed without taking the inlet manifold or anythin off its just a tight squeeze.
first un-clip the dizzy cap, there will be two little spring loaded clips on the sides of the cap. moove the cap outta tha way.