Fordmods Logo

Serpintine Belt 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Serpintine Belt
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 196

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

where is the adjustment for the serpentine belt on an EF to tighten?

 

_________________

Mk2 Zephyr
2011 XR6 Special edition

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:48 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 353

Joined: 27th Nov 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: AUII XR6 VCT

Location: Canning Vale
WA, Australia

I think they have automatic belt tensioners, you just need to use a socket or a spanner to lever it across and then just release it once you have the belt on and lined up

 

_________________

www.aufalcon.com/dunkly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 2:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 651

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: falcon V8

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: clayton
VIC, Australia

no their is a tenisoner pulley that takes up any slack in the belt
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:06 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 146

Joined: 2nd Apr 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: Otago
New Zealand

All you need is a 3/8 ratchet or strongarm bar to relieve the pressure on the belt. Slip the old one off and whip the new one on simple as. You can remove your thermos to if you want to make it easier. So going on your origianl post you cant really adjust the tension on your belt. It sounds like yours is pukered. Get a new belt :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yep, its self tightening.

if ya belts loose then its probably stretched.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Serpintine Belt
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

longlivethefalcon wrote:
where is the adjustment for the serpentine belt on an EF to tighten?



Why do you need to tighten the belt?????
They are automatic.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Serpintine Belt
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3687

Joined: 4th Mar 2005

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

cjh wrote:
longlivethefalcon wrote:
where is the adjustment for the serpentine belt on an EF to tighten?



Why do you need to tighten the belt?????
They are automatic.


Tensioner could be rooted??

 

_________________

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FordFan86, lucasj95 and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:54 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names