Fordmods Logo

shakey idle. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: shakey idle.
Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 136

Joined: 23rd Dec 2008

Ride: EL FAIRMONT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hi guys.

few months back i bought a fairmont after i crashed my supercharged mont.

its an EL fairmont with a manual conversion and an AU II XR6 HP conversion.

extractors,exhaust. all the basics. (oversized throttle body for god knows why??) basically all the mods most people do with these cars during the early stages of there builds.

since purchase there has been a rough idle. well not really rough as the rev counter seems to show a consistent RPM on the dash, occaisonally dropping...

i have replaced as follows.

Distributor. complete unit.

Leads and plugs.

Coil

had injectors ultrasonically cleaned. all flowing at around 83/84

cleaned the control module ontop of the throttle body 2 times.

checked sensor connections etc.


now i dunno. it may be something stupid like an Engine mount?? as they are a fluid filled mount and sometimes give the impression of a rough idle.

its not the end of the world. but i would like to rectify it.

could it possibly be the 02 sensor??

anyone done an AU conversion into there EL and ran into any problems.

it is chipped aswell. piggy back no name chinese s**t whatever.

:) please help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:47 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 326

Joined: 12th Jun 2010

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

Posted this on another rough idle thread

Rough Idle in Drive-- Check your Engine mounts especially the drivers side. Your car will have the round hydraulic mounts and they can sag and the metal body sits down on the rubber pad on the bracket. You should be able to see aleast a 5mm gap between the bracket and the metal body of the mount, if not then this will cause rough idle and vibrations. You can also rev the car with brake on in drive(note movement) then put it in reverse brake on rev it(notice movement) Should be the same.

BTW when my drivers side went it caused vibrations in drive not as bad in park. My engine was lifting up drivers side when stalling up in gear. Installed the EL series II rubber engine mount and it idles smooth now. Kelpro sell the bracket and mount available from repco..

 

_________________

Current ride 2007
ML GLX Dualcab Triton 4x4

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:48 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 50

Joined: 6th Mar 2010

Ride: 1997 Ford Falcon EL Futura

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I had a rough idle whilst in drive with my EF a while back, Turned out to be the engine mounts.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:58 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 136

Joined: 23rd Dec 2008

Ride: EL FAIRMONT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

shes a manual guys.

thanks anyways.

i was thinking the engine mounts

i just did the 02 sensor about 30mins ago. made a huge improvement on acceleration, smoothness etc. (old one was rooted)

but still has that slight shake. mmmm
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

How many kms on that engine?
Describe what you mean by rough? Rough as in vibrations or rough as in chugging, pulsating out of balance rough?

If its the latter than its almost certainly wear and tear on the motor and she'll probably be down on compression in at least one cylinder.
If its the former than its either an engine mount or your wiring is starting to go hard and brittle, thus delivering a low voltage to your ecu and all of the relsted sensors.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:47 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 136

Joined: 23rd Dec 2008

Ride: EL FAIRMONT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

motor has only 90,000km's cars on 235,000ks

to best describe the vibration when your at the lights.

its almost like a missfire? but the revs seem to stay put on 750 odd rpm. shakey, not diabolically shakey but noticeable for the passenger and driver that it is shaking. you can actually see the motor shift a little if you look at it. thats why i suspected it would be an engine mount? i dont know if it could be a missfire or not. as it seems to run next to perfect in every other aspect.

sometimes its worse then others. and im in peak hour thinking to myself, this is it.


my friends 2003 berlina has developed a similar issue. could it be that it just comes down to old wiring?? and that i should just give up?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:50 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 136

Joined: 23rd Dec 2008

Ride: EL FAIRMONT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i was going to do fuel filter today aswell. thought it may just be a fuel delivery issue.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:10 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 326

Joined: 12th Jun 2010

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

gureno wrote:
i was going to do fuel filter today aswell. thought it may just be a fuel delivery issue.


did you check if the drivers side engine mount has sagged onto the support bracket????

 

_________________

Current ride 2007
ML GLX Dualcab Triton 4x4

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 136

Joined: 23rd Dec 2008

Ride: EL FAIRMONT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:32 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Vacuum leak can also cause rough idle...have a look around if there is any vacuum leak or if there a vacuum leak in the cabin. Other than that it may be engine mounts. Failing that maybe you have a lumpy cam :P

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:53 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 136

Joined: 23rd Dec 2008

Ride: EL FAIRMONT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i have thought about the fact that there may be a cam in it hahaha. as she really only likes to get up and move well above 3500rpm....sought of nothing nothing nothing off we go!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:33 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

gureno wrote:
i have thought about the fact that there may be a cam in it hahaha. as she really only likes to get up and move well above 3500rpm....sought of nothing nothing nothing off we go!!


BBM butterfly doesn't open till about 3800RPM, so that's what you're experiencing after.

Can't find out from previous owner if it has an aftermarket cam? I mean you said it had all these other mods done to it...including oversized T/B (can make a heap of difference to throttle response), wouldn't suprise me if it had a lumpy cam put in.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 1:52 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 326

Joined: 12th Jun 2010

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

gureno wrote:
Image


sagged a little should have more clearance then that, compare with passenger side with the aid of a torch...

cheers..

 

_________________

Current ride 2007
ML GLX Dualcab Triton 4x4

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 145

Joined: 24th May 2010

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EB Ghia

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

My vote is there's a cam in it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: shakey idle.
Posted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 1109

Joined: 4th Sep 2009

Ride: 92 EB s

Location: DORRIGO
NSW, Australia

slammeb wrote:
My vote is there's a cam in it.

Seems like a safe vote. Can't see it not having a cam.
At idle my car seems "lumpy" aswell. That's just how it idles.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:26 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names