Fordmods Logo

she wont start :'( 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: she wont start :'(
Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

okay i went to start up my beautiful car today and :O she didnt start, she turns over and when i give her a bit of fuel she gets going but when i take my foot off she instantly drops down to .5 revs and dies. Same when starting her straight out she turns over then conks out and dies. Ive checked all oils and coolants and battery leads. She has enough fuel (just above the red block) but then again it is on a slight incline, like tiny tiny incline and she wouldnt be turning over at all if she had no fuel would she?? please help my beauiful EF :'(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

aDD FUEL AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS :roll:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:23 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

still nothing, she starts if i keep the revs up she doesnt cut out but as soon as i take my foot off the accelerator she hits .5 revs and dies?? any more ideas guys?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

i had the same problem when i owned a VN Commodore :twisted: . the mechanic said the fan or the fanbelt or something had cut a whole bunch of wires and stuff.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

check vacuum lines, perhaps ur map sensor is disconnected.

also try resetting the ecu, it 'could have a glitch in the idle'

or just phone RACW? as soon as you put the phone down.... it'll start!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:36 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

okay resetted my ECU, didnt do much. Had a look at my MAP sensor, seemd to be alright, and the vacuum hose looked fine but how do i test it? would it help by saying i just installed footwell lights comming off the cigarette lighter plug!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 2:00 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

should taking the MAP sensor off cause any change to the engine, when i disconnected mine it didnt have any affect whatsoever... god dammit i just wish my sexy EF would work again :'( might call the RAC tomorrow :'(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 7:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

playphreak wrote:
should taking the MAP sensor off cause any change to the engine, when i disconnected mine it didnt have any affect whatsoever... god dammit i just wish my sexy EF would work again :'( might call the RAC tomorrow :'(


Your sexy babe didn't catch you hanging around Belina Holden did she? hey dude, she's making u pay for it now!.

Yes...if you pull the wires/vacuum hose of the map, the idle should go haywire or die. check the tps as well, its known to do the same thing.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

And idle speed controller if that's stuck it'll cause some hassles

Run an ECU diagnostic that should tell you if it can't control the isc
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:20 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 58

Joined: 3rd Mar 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check and clean ur hrottle body all dirt builds up around the butterfly allowing no cap for air to flow threw causing the car not to start. thats y wen u put ur foot on the accel its starts coz the butterfly is open and air is flowing threw and wen u take off the butterfly closes and the car turns off coz there is no air. once thats done adjust the IAC vavle the little screw on the throttle body. best to go to a ford dealer so they can use a WDS to adjust to correct settings.
if that doesnt work check u have spark or try taping ur petrol tank if it starts wen u knock the tank ur fuel pump is fuked.
all the best with it mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon EF GLi

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

where can i pick up a diagnostic scanner cheaply??
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names