Fordmods Logo

smartlock questions 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: smartlock questions
Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 121

Joined: 24th Oct 2007

Location: yorke peninsula
SA, Australia

hi,my name is ryan and im wondering if i grabbed just a full dash loom from a smartlock eb2 and the bem/instrument dash would the dashloom plug straight into the body harness of a presmartlock eb2 because if i buy a non smartlock eb2 fairmont i want to add smartlock and im wondering whats easier to do to add genuine smartlock do i go to the trouble of adding the smartlock wires or do i go and get a full dash harness/smartlock bem/smartlock dash and plug and play.

can someone give me information on adding genuine smartlock as thats what im getting and only that, whats best to do it i need a list of exactly what parts i need and i need a list of exactly how to retrofit smartlock into a non smartlock eb2 fairmont sedan. is it better to get a ed fairmont with a light dent in the back and use the parts
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

I thought all EB2's had smartlock. Perhaps some one could correct me?
Also all your questions can be answered on pages 136-138 of an Ellery's workshop manual and in a Gregorys but don't know the page numbers there.
Not being rude here, but there's way to much re-typing of what's already been printed to answer your questions.
Having a workshop manual is a must for what you're planning and will save you a lot of time and money.
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

i think some of the very early EB2's didnt have smartlock..

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:37 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 121

Joined: 24th Oct 2007

Location: yorke peninsula
SA, Australia

is a dash harness all i need along with the smartlock bem/ign barrel/ecu and will the smartlock eb2/ed harness plug straight into a presmartlock body harness.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

EB2s prior to September 92 did not have smartlock. My April 92 EB2 does not have smartlock, and my Gregorys also confirms this.

As far as I am aware from the research I have done, you need the dash loom, Smartlock BEM, Ignition switch and key and Smartlock ECU and it should all just plug in.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:15 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 121

Joined: 24th Oct 2007

Location: yorke peninsula
SA, Australia

thanks mate, will a ed fairmont dash harness plug into a eb2 non smartlock fairmont like the eb2 fairmont dash harness and gear you said should plug in.

that helps but more advice is good and to have the smartlock key do i have to change the rest of the locks to keep the 1 key or can i swap the barrels and still have the non smartlock key with the smartlock ign switch

with the eb2 gear you said should plug in how long would it take to put them into a non smartlock eb2 fairmont and take out the non smartlock gear or am i better to get another eb2/ed dashboard and put the new stuff in would that be quicker
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Mate, I think the only way you are going to find out is to try it and see if it works. No one will have ALL the answers.

I have a Smartlock EB2 fairmont parts car that I plan to move the dash etc into my Non-Smartlock EB2. AS FAR AS I AM AWARE there are no differences in the ED wiring etc.

As my car is my daily driver, I won't be doing this until I have my ED Ghia on the road, so if I stuff it up we won't be without wheels while I sort it all out.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it would be much better to not use smartlock, but install a remote immobiliser / car alarm instead it would cost you around $200 but be a lot more easier than messing around with the smartlock setup.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 8:14 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 121

Joined: 24th Oct 2007

Location: yorke peninsula
SA, Australia

i want genuine smartlock and i will do what i have to do anyone thats tried retrofiting it into a early eb2 fairmont how did you go doing it.

how long does it take to put the gear in you said i need
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Let me make this clear.

You will not get the specific answers you are looking for. This sort of project has too many unknowns. It might take half a day or it could take weeks depending on if everything works or if you have to troubleshoot problems.

Good luck with your project.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

is there a reason you want 'genuine smartlock'
You'd be really much better off with an aftermarket alarm / immobiliser, around $200 and about 2 hours to fit.
Really, smartlock isnt that 'smart' maybe it was 10 years ago.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 3:05 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 81

Joined: 26th Nov 2005

Location: boganvill sydney
NSW, Australia

ye but shonky12 isnt that smart.

 

_________________

my d**k gets hard every time i drive a falcon lol

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:00 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Location: Gladstone
QLD, Australia

OMG you fed it cat food :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:46 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names