Fordmods Logo

Snorkle question 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Snorkle question
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

before i had my gas conversion done to my car i had a snorkle on there, now i have realised that the snorkle isnt there anymore.

Question is why has the snorkle being removed when the gas system is on? can i put a snorkle back on there with no trouble at all?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:29 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 223

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU 1 Tonner

Location: Kariong
NSW, Australia

yeah you can put the snorkle back on. Wont affect it should put a XR intake on with the LPG better flow

 

_________________

To be old and wise you first have to be young and stupid

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:33 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Evil Au tonner, what pacemakers do you have on urs, im looking for some at moment and since there isnt alot of people with gas and extracts/headers hard to work out wat i can get?

how much would i be looking at for an xr intake
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:36 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 223

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU 1 Tonner

Location: Kariong
NSW, Australia

the snorkle i think from ford are $35 and ebay sell them for the same price but you have to include postage.
I got the pacemakers 4499's i think they call them i just modified my old heat shield to fit over the headers and i made another for the Gas Convertor
How much did your LPG installation cost?? If you dont mind me asking just curious what over installers are charging

 

_________________

To be old and wise you first have to be young and stupid

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mine cost $1950 some where in the $1900 for a good system which was over a year ago, my parents got there 99 au fairmont done few months ago and paid like $2200

im looking at extractors because since i got the sports exhaust put on i think its using a s**t load of fuel only now getting around 200-230 a tank a week
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:43 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 223

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU 1 Tonner

Location: Kariong
NSW, Australia

thats about what we charge thats pretty sweet
i get about 350-400 out of my tanks
mines factory fitted thats with the mods

 

_________________

To be old and wise you first have to be young and stupid

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:45 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i used to be getting 270 easy with at least around 100 on the trip computer that was saying was left now i get s**t,

do you do gas conversions?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 223

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU 1 Tonner

Location: Kariong
NSW, Australia

well i get about that to a tank not sure but i drive like a granny now need my license lol
yeah me and my boss do gas conversions

 

_________________

To be old and wise you first have to be young and stupid

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

what kind of displays do u use to display gas, i got mine going through the petrol gauge but it looks like now im having trouble with a correct reading before it was ok ready just was slow to show me how much was in there now its like a quater of tank out and when climate is on that interfers with it too
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 223

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU 1 Tonner

Location: Kariong
NSW, Australia

sometimes we use the standard gauges but other times we use the change over switch they have LED'S in them that light up.
Your sender unit might be stuffed not sending a correct reading to the gauge. Never heard of the climate control stuffing with it thats a new one

 

_________________

To be old and wise you first have to be young and stupid

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:58 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah i know, when i put the climate control on it actually makes the fuel gauge reading different like its a proper reading, for example the gauge on the tank says i got half a tank left and on the fuel gauge in the dash where speedo is it says quater of a tank left, then when i put the climate control on it looks like the fuel gauge moves up to half then when i put it off it slowly goes down

the switch is a crappy one its one where its a switch that i flick with only one led to say if its on gas or petrol wish i could have the one where it has a little led gauge on it like it has a few lights on it to say how much is left, dont like the big bulky ones they put under the steering wheel area prefer the one where i can sit nicely between the demister button and arial button
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 223

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU 1 Tonner

Location: Kariong
NSW, Australia

yeah they are a better idea nice and flush
take it to a LPG fitter and ask them to fit a new one or see if you can buy the switch and ill get the wirring diagragm and post it to you and you can fit it yourself.
All you got to do is make a nice little square hole for it fit send the wires up there solder the wires to the switch and insert all done

 

_________________

To be old and wise you first have to be young and stupid

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:06 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

they dont have the switch i want :( i guess ill have to look around for one, get them to fix a new what, sorry i just went over my head for wat that is
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

chance are you will find it need to be retuned if you fit the snorkel. did for mine had a lot of stalling issues with it too.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:09 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i certainly will be getting that snorkle this week and giving it a go to fit it, hopefully that mite make the car feel a bit better, but hopefully i can get the extractors done nicely with the gas conversion around it also
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:53 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names