Fordmods Logo

Sped on speedo wrong. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Sped on speedo wrong.
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:54 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 53

Joined: 17th Jun 2005

Ride: AUFalcon Series 1

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

Gday all, I just purchased a TomTom navigation system, which among other things tells me my current speed.

When doing 60kmh according to TomTom my speedo reads 68kmh
When doing 110knh according to TomTom my speedo reads 119kmh

Now when I brought my car it had 15in wheels. I am guessing that maybe it came out with 14in. Dunno

Anyway can I change a drive cog in the gearbox speeo drive?
What do I ask Ford for?
Which cog?
Howmany teeth?
Anything else I need to know?

Thanks
Tony

 

_________________

AU1 Falcon 18" wheels, Extractors, 2 1/2 inch system, Ultra Lows Front and Super lows in the Rear, Sun Roof (Pop up), Hawk body kit. Manual gear box.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3277

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Ronald Mcdonald Mobile

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

all cars come from the factory with a speedo that reads a bit high.

at least yours is more accurate than mine. my speedo sits on about 78kmh and the GPS says 60 :)

 

_________________

Gooooone - Eb2 Coon - 143RWKW
Now - Mazda MX5 with HKS Supercharger 190RWKW
Crescent Motorsport Liverpool - 9600 6229

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 9:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=30 Try here in the technical document area for your answer.

BTW EF's came wth 15" standard, might be the tyre profile is wrong or the diff has been changed.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 1092

Joined: 14th Mar 2006

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 turbo project

Location: perth
WA, Australia

my xf had 15" rims on it, the rims wont change ur speedo reading, as long as wen u go up in rim size, u come down in trye size. eg: 225/50/r15 ud have 225/60/r16

isnt that how it works?..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4401

Joined: 25th Mar 2005

Ride: BA XT, BA XR6T, ED Ghia 5.0

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nv.shaggys.xf wrote:
my xf had 15" rims on it, the rims wont change ur speedo reading, as long as wen u go up in rim size, u come down in trye size. eg: 225/50/r15 ud have 225/60/r16

isnt that how it works?..


Pretty much.. so long as the rolling diameter stays identical, as in the rim itself plus the profile of the tyre.

 

_________________

What's the difference between a Holden and a sheep? It's less embarrasing getting out of the back of a sheep..

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:33 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names