Fordmods Logo

sprocket onto cam PLZ HELP 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:53 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

how did not releasing the tensioner do that to it?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Pulled the chain tight and so put lateral force on the sprocket, snapping the bolt!

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

exactly didnt actually snap it straight away i would assume i only bent it but once the car got running for 50k's or so it finally gave and broke
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

i realy can't believe the people saying you don't need to undo the tensioner...

it will over tension the chain and cause damage if you dont pull it out and re-set every thing.

if you're going to give out advice at least make sure it's right

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:21 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 374

Joined: 22nd Dec 2004

Ride: EB 5Spd

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

the one thing im wondering is how do you measure what the right tension is, do you just do the tensioner bolt up until it feels likeit has pressure or do you have to use a tourque wrench? always wondered about that

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

when you pull it out and reset it it locks in the fully slack position.
when you put it back you must release it with an alen key. it will set it self to the correct tension.. but it can only move in one direction once in the engine and so if you don't take it out and set it right it will over tension the chain

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

plus it uses oil to maintain the tension..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:19 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names