Fordmods Logo

Stage 1 altered cam with new valve springs 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Stage 1 altered cam with new valve springs
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

Hey guys and girls,

Just a few questions, i am gonna get a new Stage 1 Altered cam with springs, i was just wondering how hard it is to fit it myself? And would i need to do the timing again? And if so how hard is this to do? And with the springs is it just as simple as taking the old ones out and replacing with the new ones? And is there any documents that take me through a one by one step process of doing it?

Any help with it would be great

Thanks

Daniel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

You don't need to re-do the timing if the sprocket doesn't come apart from the chain. So basically, just make sure you cable tie this and you'll be right.

Also, any reason why you changing the springs? It is not needed for the Stage 1. Stage2/3 however definately need it.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

Yer jaysen said that i should and why not for only $120.00, unless you really dont have to if you havent in urs i wont.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Yeah for that price its a good peace of mind.
I havn't got them in mine though.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

std springs will work perfectly but for that little bit of safety its worth it

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

if your upgrading your springs, why not go a stage 2?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 474

Joined: 15th Jun 2005

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ef/el halfbreed

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

Gaz wrote:
if your upgrading your springs, why not go a stage 2?
thats true, thats what i'll be putting in mine!

 

_________________

Destroy everything and dont look back!!!!!!

94 ef-el-xr-fairmont. No idea anymore.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

if your upgrading your springs, why not go stage 3? :lol:

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 916

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

My Stage 3 should be here today :)

 

_________________

5 Speed EL Futura
Stock as a rock*
Image
A1 Oils - Synthetic lubricants: www.a1oils.com.au
* A rock that has been Alted

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

do i need vernier gear for the stage 3? and is it imperative?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

danbode wrote:
do i need vernier gear for the stage 3? and is it imperative?
it allows for precision cam timing = maximium power.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I assume your head is off the car if you are replacing the valve springs????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 916

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

creeture3,

springs can be replaced with the head on. I'll be doing this next week. Just need to compress the cylinder with compressed air, and the valve wont fall in with the spring removed! :)

 

_________________

5 Speed EL Futura
Stock as a rock*
Image
A1 Oils - Synthetic lubricants: www.a1oils.com.au
* A rock that has been Alted

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Can any one host a set up guide for me, this will help to answer a few questions being asked by a lot of people?? its about 1.9Mb with lots of pictures.

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Jaysen wrote:
Can any one host a set up guide for me, this will help to answer a few questions being asked by a lot of people?? its about 1.9Mb with lots of pictures.


Only if you start profiling a stage 5 "SS destroyer" cam for the AU i6 & a 99.9% discount. just kidding!

I will if you run me through the procedure {hosting}

Do I need a homepage for that?

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:34 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names