Fordmods Logo

stock timing setting?? timing mode??? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: stock timing setting?? timing mode???
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I need to set the timing on my EA, what is the stock setting (degrees BTDC?) and also how do i put the ECU into timing mode so i can change the timing?

Replies needed ASAP
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 8:35 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

10 degrees is base, to measure it an ED (assuming same as EA here, someone else may be able to comment), earth top left pin in diagnostics port.
Start car, revs will rise, when they drop again, check timing.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

thanks, where is the diagnostics point?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

on ED's its under where the fuse panel is, but i dont htink EA's have it there?

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i cant see any sort of port near the fuse panel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

should be a white plug underneath the dash below the fuse panel.

If not its a plug somewhere in the engine bay you have to earth out

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

:S anyone with an EA know what to do?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:37 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 64

Joined: 15th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Location: bundaberg
QLD, Australia

there is a loom of wires near ur brake master, just have a dig for it and u will find a single female plug. you need to earth that out while the car is switched off then start revs will rise the fall check timing then.

it on stays in the mode for short time so have to be quick about it.

it should be at 10 degrees btdc (there will be two point on the timing cover the left one is 10 degrees btdc and the right one is tdc

hope this helps u out
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cheers, do i unplug the whole loom?

What revs should i be setting the timing at?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:02 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 64

Joined: 15th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Location: bundaberg
QLD, Australia

No you dont unplug any loom, its a plug all on its own thats seperated from the rest of the wires there is nothing pluged into it, you just plug in a spade connector with a length of wire long enough to get a earth.

as for revs you will start it up, it will rev more the normal then the revs will drop, once you hear the drop thats when its at the right revs. Not sure of the number of revs but the computer know what it needs to be at.

to cancel timing mode turn car off pull earth lead out and start again and it will be back to normal.

to make dizzy adjustment easier get a long extension bar with a 1/2 inch socket and go down between 2 and 3 intake runners and u can get the bolt easy
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nah i just use a spanner, its CFi

thankyou
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

what happens if you set the timing without doing this?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:36 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You won't be able to read the timing correctly.
You can advance or retard it roughly, but the timing mark won't match up.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:03 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 64

Joined: 15th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Location: bundaberg
QLD, Australia

steady ed is correct. Without the car in timing mode it will be advancing slightly as the car is idling therefor wat timing you set won't be absolutely stop on
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 2:54 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 336

Joined: 2nd Sep 2005

Location: Normzville
WA, Australia

Blu Falc wrote:
what happens if you set the timing without doing this?


by bridging the wires it tells the ecu to stop controlling the timing advance and leaves it at "base" timing which should be 10 degrees. it uses the 10 degrees as it's reference point. if for arguments sake the ecu decides it wants to fire at 12 degrees btdc and u turn it back to 10 without jumping the wires then in essence u are robbing it off 2 degrees changing the reference point to 8 degrees. with that it'll run 2 degrees retarded all the time. that make sense?

u have 2 minutes from the time diagnostic mode begins to adjust the timing. if thats not long enough u have to turn the key off for 15 seconds and start again. pita but u cant fight it.

 

_________________

<a href="http://www.spyderbyte.com.au">
<img border="0" src="http://www.spyderbyte.com.au/updated.gif" width="189" height="45"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FordFan86, Google Adsense [Bot] and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:42 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names