Fordmods Logo

T56 Speed BAxr6T 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:36 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 218

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EF, Magna, R33 skyline

Hi guys I'm putting a BA XR6T motor in my XF :P and I'm trying to find a 6speed to put behind it...... finding it hard to get one will the Holden gearbox fit with the falcon Bellhousing???? or if any one knows of any 6speed cov getting around let me know. I'm in QLD :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:01 am 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

Different shaft lengths between the holden box and the ford box, Contact dellows or Mal wood, they can give you specifics. Sorry I could not be any more helpful.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 200

Joined: 7th Apr 2007

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: XR6 XH Ute

Location: Narre Warren Sth.
VIC, Australia

From what I've been told, and please get this verified, the commo box is a winner .
You will have to get the input shaft changed but the shifter position is closer to that of earlier gearboxes such as the t5. You have to cut quite a bit of floor pan to get the ford boxes shifter to clear.
I also believe that the holden box uses a gearbox speed sensor where the ford uses a tailshaft sensor. so there is less fking about there too.

Cheers
Ben
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

XH XR6 wrote:
From what I've been told, and please get this verified, the commo box is a winner .
You will have to get the input shaft changed but the shifter position is closer to that of earlier gearboxes such as the t5. You have to cut quite a bit of floor pan to get the ford boxes shifter to clear.
I also believe that the holden box uses a gearbox speed sensor where the ford uses a tailshaft sensor. so there is less fking about there too.

Cheers
Ben


Correct! Just use a Ford 6 Bellhousing and Mal Wood can supply an input shaft to suit.

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 12:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 69

Joined: 21st Mar 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: AUIII XR6T, Land bruiser

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Hey does this need a special clutch to be made up or does the clutch fit up if you already have a 10.5" flywheel.

Cheers sorry to steal your post.

 

_________________

AUIIIXR6, Ultra low king springs, monro shocks, 19" of Chrome XHP Jets ,Snort Stage 4 turbo mainafold, GT 42r turbo, 3" stainless cooler piping, Haltech E6X, 42lb injectors,10mm Topgun leads,rising fuel reg, Bosch 040 fuel pump15psi = 283rwkw 802nm of tyre shreding touqe and a 12.6@118mph.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 1:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

horses4courses wrote:
Hey does this need a special clutch to be made up or does the clutch fit up if you already have a 10.5" flywheel.

Cheers sorry to steal your post.


It needs a Hydraulic Setup. a stock 5spd BA clutch works. Call Mal Wood about it, he will be able to tell you what you need.

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 2:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2515

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG MkII Xr6t Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have a question, could be way off the mark though. Is the commodore boxes better positioned gear shifter anything to do with its set up? I swear I read the falcon uses a direct shifter whereas the Holden set up uses linkages or something (resulting in poorer shift feel)?

 

_________________

EVL098 wrote:
Cramping in the hand from having it on your Wang for an excessive period of time is a definate con.
Seriously do people google "f**k up modifications for Fords owned by Jews" and get linked straight to this site nowadays?

AU,factory fitted tickford kit/IRS, t5,Sports ryder/KYB: gone.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

the commodore shifter comes up in a standard E-Series location, the BA s**t location is AU/BA. E-Series is about 70mm further forward. a little modifying of the floorpan (cutting a bit out) and the BA shifter location can be used in an E-Series.

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2515

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG MkII Xr6t Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Awesome thanks. Not that it affects me (having an AU) but for e series people are there any problems with the commodore boxes having s**t shift quality from what you know?

I can't even remember where or how long ago I think I read something about them having linkages from their shifter rather than being direct? Wasn't considering a t56 at the time so didn't pay much attention :roll:

 

_________________

EVL098 wrote:
Cramping in the hand from having it on your Wang for an excessive period of time is a definate con.
Seriously do people google "f**k up modifications for Fords owned by Jews" and get linked straight to this site nowadays?

AU,factory fitted tickford kit/IRS, t5,Sports ryder/KYB: gone.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: T56 Speed BAxr6T
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 11:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Sep 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sorry to revive an old threah. Does anyone know the BA turbo t56 part number? Is it a tuet.....?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:24 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names