Fordmods Logo

Tacho not working 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Tacho not working
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:01 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 55

Joined: 29th Mar 2006

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

hey gusy, just a question about y my tacho doesnt work in my 97' EL falcon.. the guy i bought it off told me it was because it had coilpack spark plugs.. is that true.. and if so is there neway i can fix.. ne help would b appreciated..

thanks Jon
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i didnt even know you could get coil-pack spark plugs. but if he is right. just chuck another set of plugs in. (normal plugs)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

i really dont see the spark plugs making any difference considering that the EF and EL plugs are the same. unless he means its got coil over plugs like the BA, which i cant imagine anyone doing on an EL. what would you do witht he distributor if you did that

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 10:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

ummm,,how did he explain the plugs effecting the tacho???who ever he was smack him hard thats BS.

the tacho has one wire connected that tells it what revs the engine is doing. back trace the wire and find the break,,or its a stuffed tacho.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 12:29 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

1) you don't have coil packs
2) Spark plugs don't make any difference on the tacho

Easy way to check if it the wire, or the tacho itself.. on the diagnostic plug, on the bottom, third from the right is your tacho pin, check that with a tachometer, or a DMM I guess, between that and ground.

If you just see a constant 12V, or you see nothing at all, thats wrong... (make sure to have the engine running).


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 8:29 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 55

Joined: 29th Mar 2006

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

aight thanks for the help.. thats just what he said i didnt really care that the tacho doesnt work so i didnt really listen.. but yeah thats what the guy said.. if its not true then i will have to find out whats wrong with it then...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names