Fordmods Logo

Temp gauge issue 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Temp gauge issue
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:16 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 20

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have an EL falcon GLI and my temp gauge goes up and down like a yoyo. It does it slowly though but it is annoying. I went to ford and they replaced my coolant and then blead the system and it still does the same thing. The thermostat is near new, and it is a genuine ford part. Does anyone have any ideas as to what is causing this problem? The only thing i could think of is the coolant sensor playing up
:?:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

check your battery connections and connections to temp sensor for corrosion.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:53 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 20

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The connections are fine, both at the battery and at the coolant temp. Ford themselves checked that also, but they say keep an eye the gauge, but that still doesnt tell me why it is doing it. What else?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

if u do stop start driving, etc it would be normal, what marks does it alternate between?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:28 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 20

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

This occurs no matter what driving i do, highway driving, stop start all the same. The temp goes from normal temp (like the A in normal) then it goes up between the M and R (in normal) then drops down back to the A. I dont know what effect it has on the engine but it is not normal for a gauge to do what mine does. To tell you what it is bloody annoying :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 6:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Any chance of swapping coolant sensor with someone else?

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: try this
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 7:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Attach a digital meter to the two relevant pins on the computer from the sensor and check the voltage to see if it swings up/down. The temp gauge is fed adata signal from the compter not direct from the sensor. Check for any fault codes which may show if another sensor is faulty and changing the fuel mix ( comp adjusting for bad sensor) If u need pin outs and operating voltages let me know.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hmmm 6 replies, and no one has suggested drilling a 2 - 3mm hole into the thermostat... :roll:

Mikew, more than likely the thermostat is the cause, even though it is a new genuine item, it is a common fault.
If you remove the thermostat, and drill a small (2 to 3mm) hole into the side of it, you will find it will solve the problem.
If the thermostat alredy has a hole with a check valve, then remove the check valve and leave the hole open.
When installing it again, ensure the hole if facing the front of the car.

There should be other posts around the place of similar problems.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 62

Posts: 3

Joined: 28th May 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I agree with drilling a hole in the thermostat! Had the same problem myself a week ago after putting in a new thermostat, drilling solved the problem! Not a bad idea to replace the radiator cap either if that hasn't already been done?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 6:52 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 20

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks guys for your help on this issue. The radiator cap is new (ford item) is i thought it was the cap playing up, but that didnt work. So how does drilling a 2-3 mm hole in the thermstat work anyways? Where abouts should i drill the hole if there isnt one there?
Hmmm you would think a genuine thermostat would have this hole in the first place :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 7:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

drill the hole into the outer ring, 1/2 way between the centre and outer edge

see this pic - http://www.troubleshooters.com/tpromag/ ... mviews.png

pink dot indicates where to drill
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 20

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

A big thank you to 66 coupe and west55 as i drilled a hole in the themostat and now the gauge is working perfectly. Couldnt believe that a genuine ford part doesnt have these holes in the first place, but it is all good now. Problem fixed

Cheers :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

mikew wrote:
A big thank you to 66 coupe and west55 as i drilled a hole in the themostat and now the gauge is working perfectly. Couldnt believe that a genuine ford part doesnt have these holes in the first place, but it is all good now. Problem fixed

Cheers :D


:wink: No probs
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

mikew wrote:
A big thank you to 66 coupe and west55 as i drilled a hole in the themostat and now the gauge is working perfectly. Couldnt believe that a genuine ford part doesnt have these holes in the first place, but it is all good now. Problem fixed

Cheers :D

it is a strange one though that there is hundreds of these thermostats outthere without this hole and they are also working - but good to hear your guage is now a little more stable!!

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:28 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names