Fordmods Logo

Thermos Into eb 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 7:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 789

Joined: 9th Dec 2011

Ride: S1 eb 5speed

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

I'm planning to put some el thermo fans into my eb.
I don't want to buy a Craig David kit or what their called.
So just a quick one for the more electrically knowledge fordmodders.
If I was to make my own wiring, and I wanted to have the fans on separate toggle switches and have it so the fans have power only when the ign is on how would I do this?
Trigger wire from ignition to a relay, to the switches to relays for the fans?
Just don't wanna forget to turn my fans off haha
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Relay numbers......on a 4 pin or 5 pin ( double 87's )...NOT 87a.
Pin 30 = Battery postive (+) , and add a fuse before the relay pin 30.
Pin 87 = Object to be powered up, eg; the fans
Pin 85 = Earth/ground.....can be used for switching.....85 - switch - ground (-)
Pin 86 = (+) battery, to switch the relay on.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

i think you mean a Davies Craig kit. not this:
Image


:lol:
anyway. i used a Davies Craig kit. it comes with instructions. follow them and you'll be fine. make sure you use decent size power wires. i learnt by that mistake

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 7:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 789

Joined: 9th Dec 2011

Ride: S1 eb 5speed

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

I thought it sounded familia. He's pretty slick.
What's the kit worth? Because the wire and relays I'd be thinking itd cost like $50 max.
That's an easier way to run it, just using the one relay. Don't want both thermos goin all the time tho, unless they are very quiet.
And the trigger wire from battery, it'd be best to use a trigger from the accessories?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 7:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 789

Joined: 9th Dec 2011

Ride: S1 eb 5speed

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

Thanks cjh. When you say pin 85 can Be used for switching what do you mean
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

kit was like 60 bucks. but doesn't come with wires. it has the temp probe you put into the top hose. i love them. set what temp they turn on at and forget about them. mine were wired by an auto elec mate of mine for $40 bucks. So it cost me $100 all up

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 8:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 789

Joined: 9th Dec 2011

Ride: S1 eb 5speed

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

So what's in the kit?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:49 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 333

Joined: 20th Apr 2011

Ride: 1991 eb1 fairmont

Location: townsville
QLD, Australia

mine had controller, mounting bracket, wiring and relay
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:12 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Much easier to install an EL or best yet, a NON-XR XH ECU, and have the ecu controll the thermo's.

http://www.tiperformance.com.au/Technic ... 0EA-ED.pdf

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:31 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

I'm with Krytox... Not a fan of the capillary line in the top hose... They all seem to leak...

I run an EL computer in my ED... Had a J3 chipped one to suit the std log manifold originally... And now I have BBM so just run a std EL XR6 computer... Used a EL thermofan relay block and harness... Just opened it up and made it stand alone... So big earth, big power, ignition power and two switch wires...

EL fans have a low and high setting (all done with simple relay logic, not the fans themselves) and the computer ramps them from off to low to high depending on many factors from speed to temperature... It also switches them on at lower speeds when the AC is on to help drop the pressure in the system when you have lack of air flow through the condenser...

I would serious look at this than an old manual capillary switch... Despite everyone speaking highly of them... It's just old... At the very least tap the thermostat housing and run a proper switch:

http://www.tridon.com.au/Products/Produ ... 483&P=2014

We've discussed all this many times before so feel free to do some searching and read my build thread linked in my signature... I have uploaded the files for wiring in the factory computer numerous times, so again feel free to search, put in my name and thermofans as the word to find should come up with something...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 1:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

mine doesn't. use a decent clamp

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 1:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 789

Joined: 9th Dec 2011

Ride: S1 eb 5speed

Location: Coffs Harbour
NSW, Australia

If you used a repco clamp itd leak for sure.
I have a el ecu in my car ATM with j3 suited to eb series1 5speed so dunno if it'll still have what it needs
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 1:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

can't comment... Never used onw... Yes your el computer has what you need... Two of the pins are the thermofan triggers... One low and one high... I'd just find an el engine bay loom and cut out the thermofan stuff... As i said, you have a big yellow wire which needs to come off the battery via a 60amp fuse... A big black wire which is hooked to a good earth... A red with green trace which you jook to an ignition power source... This stops the fans operating with the key off... And a blue and blue with white trace which you hook into two computer pins... Plug in the fans and mount the relay block... The computer takes care of the rest...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 1:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

WILDEB wrote:
make sure you use decent size power wires. i learnt by that mistake

best piece of advice there, when i did my thermo fan install i went absolutely overkill LOL

In my setup i had one fan controlled by a thermatic switch and the other fan was manually controlled via a switch, both where switched by 40 amp relays

The wire was used in my install was 25 amp betwen battety and relay and relay to fan.

each fan and relay was individually earthed with 25 amp wire

the switching wire used in each circuit was rated to 17 amp

all power wires between components was fused including the manual thermo fan switch wire

i also had a light hooked up on my dash so i knew that the thermatically controlled fan was switched on

yeah i know overkill, but it worked rather well :twisted:

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Thermos Into eb
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 130

Joined: 27th Jul 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 93 ed fairmont ghia

Location: Bulli
NSW, Australia

i used a davies craig mechanical thermal switch non relay.also have a high flow thermostat. never had a problem with it! it has the stainless temp probe in the top radiator hose and it never leaked, i used a hose clamp not the std clamp on the top hose. no problems what so ever. both fans come in together. my ed never runs hot nor too cold. do not use fuses.. use a circuit breaker if you go this way. i had a 40amp fuse holder and it was melting fuses like no tomorrow (fuse holder installed my an auto elect when my car was getting some other funny diagnostics things done) so i put a 50 amp circuit breaker in it. never had any problems. i would just buy the kit. its not hard at all to install. i also did discover i needed a relay becase the fans were producing a surge of power when turning the car off and it would not shut off instantly (2-3 secs) from picking up pwr off ignition circuit.

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Ghia. t5 conversion w h/d exedy, 3:45:1 lsd, pacemaker extractors, 2.5" custom exhaust, waggott cam,K&N high flow panel filter, TI performance chip w/ 4 tune switch(2 ED, 2 EL tunes) king 18's, el thermo fan w/ Davis Craig switch. 5000K hids,led lighting, doof box in boot.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:04 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names