Fordmods Logo

thermostat need sealant or no need? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: thermostat need sealant or no need?
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 18

Joined: 25th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys, how you all doing?just want to ask, do I have to use sealant product be for I screw in thermostat housing?or it w'll be ok without sealant. :? thanks .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

It uses a rubber seal around the thermostat.

I always use RTV on any oil/water metal component.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

rubber thingy is a must

i also used a silcony sort of thing on my housing as they are prone to warping and leaking again

file it down nice and smooth and you'll be set

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:56 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names