Fordmods Logo

this ever happen to anyone else 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: this ever happen to anyone else
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

just did a 150k minor service - before service getting 15.2l/100km after 18.5l/100km

it was s**t ecomony b4 now its worse -WHATS WRONG?? :shock:

it drives/starts runs fine

used same parts ive always used:

plugs - zgr6b-11's gapped 1.1
oil -penrite hpr15
filter- ryco z9

repaired small coolant leak on heater pipe at rear of w/p

flushed & replaced coolant with tecalloy gold & distilled water
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Does the figure seem accurate?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

good ? -fiik- thats what im getting on trip computer

ill have to fill tank and do manual calculation
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

about the only thing that would affect fuel usage in what you describe are your plugs ... so its gotta be them :?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 62

Posts: 285

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: buick

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I get 13.5l/100km around city & 9.8/10l100km on h/way with a AU ghia with a VCT a heaveier car. Are you driving it hard. Take it for a h/way run to see if economy improves. Could be air filter if you have not changed it. I was getting about 14.7/100km with a dirty air filter
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

always used same type of plugs and filter was changed 5k ago and i drive like an old granny
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

Check line to map senser? Check for vacuum leaks..Check vacuum line is connected to fuel reg??
How old is your cap and leads ???

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

tiny56 wrote:
always used same type of plugs and filter was changed 5k ago and i drive like an old granny


gap wrong ... faulty set of plugs ... put the old ones back in and re test ... some ideas ?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

i have checked for vaccum leaks and i set plug gap at 1.1mm

i would of thought it would run like crap and/or idle poorly with a vaccum leak or bad plug/s but it runs/idles fine

maybe dirty injectors/hego??

leads are bosch ~15k old
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

this sounds very familiar..

my economy is on 17.7L/100 in an ef fairmont

i know it jumped up a fairbit, but i cant remember when, thinking about it, it may have been after i did my service i cant remember :?

as for mine, new plugs, leads, k&n, new exhaist, oxy sensor, fuel filter..

so let me know if you find the answer !

common thing is penrite HPR-15... dodgey batch? :\

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:07 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

u have not done the fule filter or airfilter these can have adverse affects on ecconomy.. :)

then agin my K+N was black as black and i cleaned it and still no improvemnt in evonomy

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:18 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 124

Joined: 2nd Apr 2005

Ride: Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Maybe reset the ECU and see what happens..

 

_________________

V8 Windsor here we come.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
u have not done the fule filter or airfilter these can have adverse affects on ecconomy.. :)

then agin my K+N was black as black and i cleaned it and still no improvemnt in evonomy


fuel & air filter were done about 5k ago

how do ya est ecu - disconnect battery for a couple of hours??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:03 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

what temp is the car running at? new thermostat required?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

kodak wrote:
what temp is the car running at? new thermostat required?


92.5'c normal
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names