Fordmods Logo

Top Starter Motor Bolt Hole STRIPPED?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Top Starter Motor Bolt Hole STRIPPED??
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 5:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 253

Joined: 16th Jun 2009

Ride: EA, EB GT kit, AU XR6 HP engine

Location: Fraser coast
QLD, Australia

Hey everyone, I've got a weird problem. The past couple of days my starter motor hasn't been engaging, today I had a chance to jack it up and get underneath it and I realised that the top bolt was missing and the starter was sort of hanging off so it couldn't engage the flywheel.

Anyway, I thought no dramas and went to my mates place to rip a bolt out of an XC with a 250 xflow. The thread is exactly the same as the bottom starter motor bolt, the XC one is just a bit longer. I got home and went to put it in the ute and the top starter motor bolt hole in the bell housing has no thread in it.

Are these supposed to be held with a nut at the back of the bell housing? The only way I can think of fixing it is getting a really long bolt with a nut and doing it up on each side.

I know that I have the right hole too (lol, no pun intended) because the bottom bolt is in and the starter only goes in one way.

Any suggestions?

Cheers!

 

_________________

EA Fairmont, EB GT kit w/o wing, AU XR6 HP engine, 17's lol Buy it
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... 0628130825

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Starter Motor Bolt Hole STRIPPED??
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:11 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

sounds like the thread is completely stripped, easiest fix is to use a longer bolt with a nut on the otherside of the bellhousing.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Starter Motor Bolt Hole STRIPPED??
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:28 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 60

Joined: 10th Jul 2012

Ride: Falcon Xh

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

You could drill tap and helicoil it. Or Drill and Re Tap a larger diamater. Im uncomfortable with the nut job :( ... The back surface isnt flush is it. Its just a little bodgey. I dont like being a poo poo er. Its up to you. Regards Daz. P.S How accesible is it, Witout the starter motor should be room to tap.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Starter Motor Bolt Hole STRIPPED??
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:01 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 253

Joined: 16th Jun 2009

Ride: EA, EB GT kit, AU XR6 HP engine

Location: Fraser coast
QLD, Australia

I've never used a helicoil and if the starter motor is out of the way, the manifold is still in the way. I'm just going to get a long bolt and put a nut on it with a spring washer or somehing similar.

Thanks guys.

 

_________________

EA Fairmont, EB GT kit w/o wing, AU XR6 HP engine, 17's lol Buy it
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... 0628130825

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Starter Motor Bolt Hole STRIPPED??
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

kawasakirider wrote:
I've never used a helicoil and if the starter motor is out of the way, the manifold is still in the way. I'm just going to get a long bolt and put a nut on it with a spring washer or somehing similar.

Thanks guys.

or a medium loctite to stop it rattling off.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Starter Motor Bolt Hole STRIPPED??
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:37 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 253

Joined: 16th Jun 2009

Ride: EA, EB GT kit, AU XR6 HP engine

Location: Fraser coast
QLD, Australia

I've got some blue loctite that I was intending on putting on it :)

Cheers.

 

_________________

EA Fairmont, EB GT kit w/o wing, AU XR6 HP engine, 17's lol Buy it
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... 0628130825

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Top Starter Motor Bolt Hole STRIPPED??
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 72

Joined: 30th May 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: el fairmont

Location: canberra act
QLD, Australia

You can use the spacer tube from seat belt pillar bolt & cut it on an angle and use it on the sloping side of the bell housing to keep the bolt straight ,personally i would take off the manifold & use a fixa thread they are easy to use & stronger than a helicoil ,ps the manifold only takes about 20 min to get off ,then you have tons of room
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: steve wardle and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names