Trying to squeeze a few extra horses out of my Ef Xr6 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: Trying to squeeze a few extra horses out of my Ef Xr6
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 9:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: 96 EF XR6

TAS, Australia

Hi All
Im a newbie here, looking forward to getting to know a few of you out there. I have just fitted my engine back into my car after having it fully rebuilt. The block was bored 40thou over, and it has a mild crow camshaft, not the one that requires the chip. Only other mods are extractors, 3 and 1/2
inch exhaust and a pod filter. What id like to know is: is there anything else i can do to it to gain noticeable power without going turbo or supercharger.

Post subject: Re: Trying to squeeze a few extra horses out of my Ef Xr6
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:44 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF XR6 Wagon, AU2 XR6 VCT

Power: 148 rwkw

New Zealand

Hey, welcome. Lots of good guys (and gals) with heaps of experience - good and bad :D - on this forum.

As for a few extra horses N/A, here's a few suggestions:
- breathing in: larger snorkel (EL GT or SS Inductions), 3" airbox exit (which you prob already have if you are running a pod), larger throttle body (helps top end only)
- compression: AU MLS head gasket (if you don't already have it); head shaved
- hotter cam
- head work: porting, multi-angle valve job, back-cut intake valves
- breathing out: sounds like you already have this sorted, but maybe a high-flow cat
- under-drive pulley: less power lost to A/C, P/S, alternator and water pump; possibly Davies-Craig electric water pump.
- ignition & fuel: AU injectors, projected-tip spark plugs (eg, Autolite 985), J3 chip (you will be running over-rich for sure; a custom pre-programmed chip can make good gains, especially if tuned for high-octane fuel, and will take maximum advantage of your other mods - and is a bargain at $190 from TI Performance)

FWIW