Fordmods Logo

Underdrive Pulleys 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Post subject: Underdrive Pulleys
Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 12:46 am 
Oompa Loompa

Ride: BA XT

NSW, Australia

Hey guys, im pretty new to fordmods, a mate of mine hooked me up to this site, its quite sweet!

I own a BA XT with a few mods so far, i have begun the never ending road of modifying my ride. So far it has SS Inductions air intake, K&N panel air filter, pacemaker extractors, 2.5" exhaust, high flow cat and redback end with dual tips. Sounds throaty and mean and goes a whole heap harder than when it was stock. Ive also thrown on some 20" chrome Verde's to help out the aesthetics dept. Still plenty more work to go, lowering, brakes and plenty of engine work. I'll try posting a couple pics, hope it works, lemme kno what you all think!!

I have a question about aftermarket resized underdrive pulleys, they claim to reduce the amount of power used from the fan belt circle and free off Kw that would of been other wise used by the aircon etc etc. Claim between an increase of 7-14 KW. Is this really true? And whats the technical basis that it works on??

[FUNK.XT]

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:54 am 
Tyre Shredder

Ride: BA Futura

NSW, Australia

The technical basis is, as far as I understand, it uses a different harmonic balancer (I imagine it would be smaller and lighter) that basically gives less power to all your accessories i.e. air con, power steering, alternator, etc, but leaves enough to power them. The energy saved by not giving it to the acc has to go somewhere, and thats to the wheels! Im about to get one in a group buy on another forum for a great price, pm me if you want details! I wont say on here in case its against any rules :wink:

Ive seen dyno sheets where the rwkw have gone up by about 8-10 kW, and people have nothing but good things to say about them, and that they let your engine rev more freely.