Fordmods Logo

*UPDATED* BBM+T5 conversion plus LOTS more 

 

Page 9 of 10 [ 139 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:38 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have done a EF to EA Swap if that is any help! I also live in brisbane. Took me two complete weeks to do the swap however. Give me a yell if you need help. Not far from you huggiebear.

There a few minor issues that will need looking at depending on how far you want to go. All are involved in getting the dash, int in place. It's been nearly a year now and I still have a few minor things not done. (like kick panel trim,seats etc) It's a daily driver so I don't get much of a chance to pull it apart.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

im undecided if im going to swap the dash aswell. id love to but its the headlight and tail light plugs that worry me. as i would do a complete loom swap. i dont want to cut and chop wires. so for now i was thinking door trims, seats and then later when i can find a run around ill do the loom and dash.

id love to see how yours is coming along tho.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:51 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Much of the time was taken in rewiring the whole car - but if you have a car to work from then it's mostly easy. (This is the best thing to do, the rolled low k ef cost me $400) Can you believe that the wire colours are mostly the same from ea to ef!!!!! just the plugs are different. I hooked up smartlock, cruze cont, body control, Air con etc. It easier to do the whole lot at once rather than trying to intergrate bits into existing loom.

Be warned that the front seats are not an easy fit - hence me sill having EA seats.

If you are interested - I am happy to talk through each step and how I did it and what I would do differently next time. Just give me a yell

 

_________________

EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Last edited by WhtFairmont on Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:55 am, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

yeah for sure... i have heard you need to change the seat rails to fit them to EA but apparently they are welded in? or a hard job to do. but where there is a will there is a way :D

ill have to come check out your car sometime.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 34

Joined: 22nd Mar 2007

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

hi huggiebear i am in browns plains if anyone feels keen to come and help me with the conversion feel free i am already losing motivation and i need the car on the road asap
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 34

Joined: 22nd Mar 2007

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

interior is ok i have no doors but dash is seemingly complete seats are there but i cannot be bothered changing them over


how far do i want to go with conversion i want it to work properly without dodgying it up but i also need it going asap i have been told to overide smartlock i need to use dash wiring and el smartlock module or put in an override module coming in at about $300 i can't be bothered removing all the dash wiring anyone know?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

are you wanting to keep the boxcar dash?


if your going to use the EL dash just do the full loom swap. if you keeping the boxcar dash use the stock computer and use a RPM switch to switch the BBM... 40 bucks is cheaper then 300 thats for sure

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:44 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 34

Joined: 22nd Mar 2007

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

from what i hear the rpm switch creates issues with pining though as i said i want it all done properly and i would love to swap the el dash in but i have been told it does not fit i am guessing after reading this tonight that is also incorrect
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

ryhmers has done the full EL interior into his supercharged EA... they do fit.

do a search for his thread... its an amazing machine

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

oops might be rhymers... lol

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:50 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

huggiebear wrote:
oops might be rhymers... lol

"Rmyers" even lol

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

hahahaha yeah. cheers for coming to the rescue...

my appologies to RMYERS

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 34

Joined: 22nd Mar 2007

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

ok will hunt it down does that mean i will also need to use the el steering wheel



does anyone know if the el k frame fits also as i heard it is stronger and better than the eb frame
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

you dont have to use the EL wheel... but if you dont use it ill have it :P i hate the EA steering wheel...

i havnt heard of the k-frams differences

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:16 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 34

Joined: 22nd Mar 2007

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

hmmm i cannot seem to find the thread oh well i guess i will just get in and try it lol
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 9 of 10  [ 139 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names