Fordmods Logo

Uploading/downloading factory and custome edits to a PC? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Uploading/downloading factory and custome edits to a PC?
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:47 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 30

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: BA

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Is there any way to store, upload or download factory and custom tunes/edits to a laptop or a PC (or even a PDA)? I know there are flash boxes available such as the Capa and Herrod units, but can these be avoided with the use of a PC and appropriate software (and connector). I dare say that the Ford service guys don't use a Capa unit to flash new software! I am looking at getting a custom tune/edit soon and want to be able to store it and the factory tune without the need to purchace a $1000 flash unit.

JB
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:45 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yes.

www.moates.net

I use their hardware for editing my EL.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:20 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 313

Joined: 9th Jan 2006

Ride: EF2 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Eltham
VIC, Australia

what stuff do we need????

 

_________________

Cobra Motorsports

1996 EF2 Fairmont Ghia For Sale

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:23 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

You can't just flash E-series ECU's you need to get a flashable J3 chip.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Im guessing you have a BA and you want a capa flash tuner? If so, they store 5 tunes so just put the factory tune in one slot.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:20 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yeah, that'd do it, but he wants to do it cheap.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 30

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: BA

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Just looking at doing what the Capa unit does (storing and sending tunes) but doing it through a laptop instead of through the flash boxes. The tunes cost enough without an additional $1000 for a flash box. Anyone heard of this being possible for a BA?

JB
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:25 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names