Fordmods Logo

URGENT> problem now fixed. thanks people. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: URGENT> problem now fixed. thanks people.
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2288

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi, I have a 1993 EBII and I removed the amp sub and head unit before and now it wont start and the smartlock keypad wont work. All the other electronics work and the car turns over but its like an immobiliser is still engaged. There is now power cables still connected. The only wires that are bare and connected are the ones that connect to the back of the head unit but none of them are touching.

 

_________________

Image

Last edited by MooseMan on Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:34 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

have u checked ur fuses? cause it might have shorted while u were pulling it apart.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

if smarlock doesnt work and you cant start the engine, check your fuses, IIRC its the "CRT LMP" fuse

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2288

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeh I checked all the fuses and stuff. Dad thinks that maybe it needs to have a radio of some sort installed which sounds stupid.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:49 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

nah mooseman........pull out the relays and put them back in. see if that works. sometimes the relays get stuck....happened in my EA and my blinkers were stuck on instead of clicking.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:06 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If the engine is turning over but not firing, then smartlock isn't engaged. Because it disabled the starter motor aswell..

Id be looking at your ignition circuit, so fuses as mentioned. And then checking if the fuel pump primes when you turn it on ignition (should hear it prime for about 2 secs).

And report back here.

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 105

Joined: 3rd Nov 2005

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EB Fairmont Ghia

Location: Northern Burbs Adelaide
SA, Australia

Have a look at the radio loom, there are 2 green/yellow wires in that loom.
They need to be joined together, because 1 of them goes to the smart lock module. Had this same problem with mine and if the green/yellow wire doesn't have battery power on it the smart lock module won't work!
Cheers,
Dave.

 

_________________

EB Fairmont Ghia 6 -160rwkw (E85 tune)
ZL Fairlane 6 - Grandpa Spec
XW Falcon 221 2V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 7:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

Davey Gravy wrote:
Have a look at the radio loom, there are 2 green/yellow wires in that loom.
They need to be joined together, because 1 of them goes to the smart lock module. Had this same problem with mine and if the green/yellow wire doesn't have battery power on it the smart lock module won't work!
Cheers,
Dave.


Spot on. Will be this without a doubt. Find them where the plug behind the radio is/was.

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 7:29 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

samething happened to my old ED, but it was a fuse that blew, interesting how that happens ey!
hope ya get it fixed

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 11:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

either fuses or looms, you have narrowoed it down to 2 things
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:03 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Davey Gravy wrote:
Have a look at the radio loom, there are 2 green/yellow wires in that loom.
They need to be joined together, because 1 of them goes to the smart lock module. Had this same problem with mine and if the green/yellow wire doesn't have battery power on it the smart lock module won't work!
Cheers,
Dave.


in my EL i didn't even have a radio when i was driving home from the auctions......and the wires were all cut and none were joined together...yet the car still worked? unless they changed it when they designed the EL

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2754

Joined: 14th Apr 2005

Ride: fairmont

Location: mackay
QLD, Australia

tomcolahan wrote:
Davey Gravy wrote:
Have a look at the radio loom, there are 2 green/yellow wires in that loom.
They need to be joined together, because 1 of them goes to the smart lock module. Had this same problem with mine and if the green/yellow wire doesn't have battery power on it the smart lock module won't work!
Cheers,
Dave.


Spot on. Will be this without a doubt. Find them where the plug behind the radio is/was.


totally agree lol same thing happened to me

 

_________________

Now i have a EF XR8 5spd.........mmmmmm 5L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4323

Joined: 17th Jan 2006

Ride: Soarer 2.5GT-T

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

Ahh, this must be an inferior quality boxcar problem :P.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 11:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

justfordima wrote:
If the engine is turning over but not firing, then smartlock isn't engaged. Because it disabled the starter motor aswell..

Id be looking at your ignition circuit, so fuses as mentioned. And then checking if the fuel pump primes when you turn it on ignition (should hear it prime for about 2 secs).

And report back here.

Cheers


Yes but no. The smartlock will disable the starter motor when the sensors around the car are not working e.g. when u put a new BEM in. If you remove the fuse for the things like the Int light and radio CRT LMP IIRC then it WONT give power to the BEM therefore the BEM cant tell the ECU to power the injectors.

This happend to me when i did the Jaycar door lock conversion. I shorted 2 wires accidently and that blew the fuse that kills the int light and the radio. This made it so that i cant start the car. The starter motor worked but it didnt start. I found the gay fuse and it worked fine.

Ohh well least it aint a commodore and start with 2 jumper leads. One from batt to coil and one from coil to starter motor. HEHE love the VN's.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 11:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2288

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well I looked at the radio loom and there is only one green/yellow wire. I can find another one.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names