Fordmods Logo

Using Tap into Head Bolt Holes in Block 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Using Tap into Head Bolt Holes in Block
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:36 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 156

Joined: 2nd Nov 2005

Ride: EA Fairmont

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hi All

I'm currently doing the head on my EA.

I want to clean the head bolt holes in the block.

I have the correct metric tap ( 12mm & 1.5 pitch ) and measured
the threads carefully long ways against a bolt. It seemed OK.

When I tried the tap in a bolt hole, it started fine but then I felt
a certain amount of resistance, enough to make me think
it may be cutting a little metal. So I've stopped for now.

Is this normal ??
Has anyone used a shop bought tap and the effects ??

I do have an angle grinder, so I suppose I could cut a couple of slots
in an old head bolt.

Do you use the cutting or grinding disc for this ??

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Tap into Head Bolt Holes in Block
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:29 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 174

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon roo killer

Location: MELBOURNE
VIC, Australia

gutza wrote:
Hi All

I'm currently doing the head on my EA.

I want to clean the head bolt holes in the block.

I have the correct metric tap ( 12mm & 1.5 pitch ) and measured
the threads carefully long ways against a bolt. It seemed OK.

When I tried the tap in a bolt hole, it started fine but then I felt
a certain amount of resistance, enough to make me think
it may be cutting a little metal. So I've stopped for now.

Is this normal ??
Has anyone used a shop bought tap and the effects ??

I do have an angle grinder, so I suppose I could cut a couple of slots
in an old head bolt.

Do you use the cutting or grinding disc for this ??

Thanks


Dont use a tap just use a old head bolt the threads in the block are slightly rounded and the taps are sharp and you will stuff your block

 

_________________

Technical Advisor AA GASKETS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:26 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11738

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

^ What he said.

Clean your old head bolts and use that to clean the holes...or alternatively use a compressor and air gun...works a charm if you can get your hands on one.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 156

Joined: 2nd Nov 2005

Ride: EA Fairmont

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Thanks for the replies.
I'll have to whip out the angle grinder and try to cut
a slot or two in an old head bolt.
At least I can have 14 goes. Hopefully I'll get one right. lol
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names