Fordmods Logo

Vacuum Leak 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Vacuum Leak
Posted: Tue May 12, 2009 6:53 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 28

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Tasmania
TAS, Australia

Hi,

I am having a problem with a vacuum leak in my EF. The recirculate air function does not open the 'door' in the air inlet near the glovebox. You can feel that there is some vacuum as the door is not sealed tight, but not enough to open the flap. When you have sharp pressure changes such as steep hills, etc, the door does open for a moment and them shuts again.

I have tried carby cleaner and was told by the Ford guy that 90% of the time that the inlet manifold gasket is cracked around number 6. But I it did not change the idle. I have also inspected all the vacuum hoses I can find and haven't found a crack.

After any ideas about where else to look, short of pulling the dash to check the actuator for the interior air inlet.

Thanks,
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Vacuum Leak
Posted: Tue May 12, 2009 7:53 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Ford Guys an Idiot.
documents.php?d=23

The Recirc Flap is Broken.


Show your hand up there and see if you can move it.

If it moves without springing back, its shafted!

2 fixes, Drive a screw in the casing, keeping it closed or remove the dash and fit another one.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Vacuum Leak
Posted: Wed May 13, 2009 9:49 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 28

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Tasmania
TAS, Australia

thanks for the reply mate. You are probably right about the Ford guy.

I think my problem may be slightly different though, as it still snaps back on using the fresh air function. There is still tension.

Just thought would most likely be a leak.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Vacuum Leak
Posted: Wed May 13, 2009 10:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Do all the other vents open and close and direct air where they shoul?

If so, then the Vac should be fine. Typically, if the is a vac leak, the air output defaults to demist output only.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Vacuum Leak
Posted: Wed May 13, 2009 10:47 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 28

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Tasmania
TAS, Australia

Normally they work as they should, but on hills it does go to dimister only.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Vacuum Leak
Posted: Wed May 13, 2009 10:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Mine does the same at lots of throttle.

But my fresh air vent works fine.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:35 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names