Fordmods Logo

what cam to use in auto 

 

Page 3 of 3 [ 37 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

 
 Post subject: Re: what cam to use in auto
Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 12:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

if you were in sydney i'd say yes i know where to get one but being in OLD you will have to do some homework my man. Ask your local tranny bloke he may know where to get one!!

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: what cam to use in auto
Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: what cam to use in auto
Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 627

Joined: 5th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: GREEN ED XR6

Power: 249 rwkw

Location: CENTRAL WEST QLD
QLD, Australia

kool i'll give em a call in the morning or on monday

 

_________________

AU2 engine with Hoppers head/cam performance package & spool rods / CP pistons ,Snort 1200 plenum, T56 Manual & Billet short shifter, Front & Rear Slotted rotors, Pedders lowered suspension, LSD and tuned with EMS stinger 4424 347rwkw THE ED XR6 IS BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: what cam to use in auto
Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

wild_cleveland wrote:
ever thought that im on my p's?


no body ever thinks of that lol. i'm in the same boat

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: what cam to use in auto
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 1:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 627

Joined: 5th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: GREEN ED XR6

Power: 249 rwkw

Location: CENTRAL WEST QLD
QLD, Australia

just found a thread about putting the 1673 wade cam in an auto but putting the open lobe center at 115 to suit the auto better instead of the 113 for the manual? would that work you think? but it says more power than the 1636 but by how much and would changing the open lobe center from 113 to 115 loose that gain in power if it is even marginal??? also does anyone know where to get the multi layer au steel head gaskets from?

 

_________________

AU2 engine with Hoppers head/cam performance package & spool rods / CP pistons ,Snort 1200 plenum, T56 Manual & Billet short shifter, Front & Rear Slotted rotors, Pedders lowered suspension, LSD and tuned with EMS stinger 4424 347rwkw THE ED XR6 IS BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: what cam to use in auto
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:20 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 341

Joined: 5th Dec 2009

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Most importantly you must match your stall to the minimum rpm range of the cam, maybe look at a morestall.
i have been told by a guy who ran the 1636 in a manual that it would never suit an auto without a stall, just his opinion though ive never run one.
If the cam has an advertised rev range that comes in after the stock cam does then you will most likely need a stall or a set of diff gears.
The standard stall is suited to the stock cam.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: what cam to use in auto
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2477

Joined: 10th Mar 2007

Gallery: 27 images

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

EDXR6-Poly wrote:
just found a thread about putting the 1673 wade cam in an auto but putting the open lobe center at 115 to suit the auto better instead of the 113 for the manual? would that work you think? but it says more power than the 1636 but by how much and would changing the open lobe center from 113 to 115 loose that gain in power if it is even marginal??? also does anyone know where to get the multi layer au steel head gaskets from?

Opening up the lobe centres will make the cam more suitable for an auto as it will widen the powerband a bit. There are people out there that are running a 1673 in an auto with stock stall and say it goes fine from what i've read, might lose out on a bit down low but it will make up for it through the midrange and up top. I almost went that way myself as i couldn't decide whether i wanted the 1636 or 1673 but instead chose a different cam from a different company altogether to experiment with.

As for gaskets you should be able to get them through Ford, don't know what they charge for them over there but here they are a bloody rip off just because they are MLS. I think Shiftkits.com.au sell them too so give them a buzz :wink:

 

_________________

Money Talks, But All Mine Ever Says Is Goodbye
EF Fairmont - EFF111 Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 3  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:16 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names