Fordmods Logo

What is this warning light on the dash? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: What is this warning light on the dash?
Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 17th Jun 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

A warning light symbol comes up on the dash randomly. Sometimes when I have just started the car and take off, sometimes 20minutes later it comes on. It looks like a battery warning light but a fan is shown in the middle of it. Any ideas guys. There is plenty of water in the bottle.

Mick

Last edited by Mick0 on Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 510

Joined: 4th May 2005

Ride: EL XR8 / GHIA / GT

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

sounds like the low coolant warning

 

_________________

EL II XR8
Pedders Sports Suspension
Pacemaker Exhaust system with Hi-Flow Cats
Tickford / GT Body Kit
Electric Sunroof / Moonroof
FR19 Simmons Wheels
Ghia / GT Interior

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 6:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

yep looks like the low coolant light. you may have a faulty switch (not uncommon for them lo leak and sink)

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 6:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Replace the switch in the side of the resovoir tank. Switch has s**t itself. or even try puttin a new cap on the tank.

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 9:01 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 190

Joined: 30th May 2006

Location: Third Rock From The Sun
Oustide Australia

got a qoute of $60 from Ford for a coolant level switch.

 

_________________

God save Allan Moffat, God bless d**k-Johnson and thank Christ for Marcos Ambrose.........

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 9:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 17th Jun 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks guys, are you sure that is what could be the problem.

Cheers
Mick
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 11:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 250

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Ride: EF OPT20

Location: Country
SA, Australia

Quote:
are you sure that is what could be the problem
Provided the resivour is full, most definatly - if it were open curcuit (disconnected) or the wiring shorted, the light will flash instead of just staying on.

 

_________________

'94 EF GLI
Dash Mat
Color-coded Ashtray
Polished Wheel Nuts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 2:42 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 190

Joined: 30th May 2006

Location: Third Rock From The Sun
Oustide Australia

is it possible to convert a standard reservoir to accept the coolant level sensor or are they different?

 

_________________

God save Allan Moffat, God bless d**k-Johnson and thank Christ for Marcos Ambrose.........

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 655

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Build# 499 BF F6 TYPHOON DEJA VU

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the switch is not always the case guys, mine did the same, then it stayed on all the time, my mechanic changed the cap, and that was it no light, try that first before you do the switch, heaps cheaper

 

_________________

232.5 RW KILLER WASPS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

ed_man wrote:
is it possible to convert a standard reservoir to accept the coolant level sensor or are they different?


you just need to drill the hole out. you should be able to see the outline for it.

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:36 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 339

Joined: 19th Jul 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

My AU was doing this too, it was an air pocket... Took the cap off, changing the cap, forced the air out by squeezing the tubes, put a new cap on, and it hasn't come back...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:09 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 17th Jun 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks guys, you have been a great help
Cheers
Mick
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:53 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 190

Joined: 30th May 2006

Location: Third Rock From The Sun
Oustide Australia

Leroy wrote:
ed_man wrote:
is it possible to convert a standard reservoir to accept the coolant level sensor or are they different?


you just need to drill the hole out. you should be able to see the outline for it.



thanks for the reply much appreciated.

 

_________________

God save Allan Moffat, God bless d**k-Johnson and thank Christ for Marcos Ambrose.........

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:04 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 140

Joined: 4th Apr 2006

Location: Mandurah
WA, Australia

Had this problem a few times - in my case it was the contacts for the switch that were dirty. if you disconnect the switch and then unscrew it, take it out and clean the contacts then put it back in and it should be good as gold. These don't usually wear out or break.

You can avoid losing coolant by undoing the 3 10mm bolts and turning the reservoir on its side while unscrewing the sensor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 162

Joined: 19th Sep 2006

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF xr6 5spd

Location: Barossa
SA, Australia

My mums fairlane does that on occasions. I think we sussed the problem as being a loose switch.

 

_________________

-1994 EF XR6 + Factory 5speed = Fun :)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:17 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names