Fordmods Logo

Which Cam 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 40 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Which Cam
Posted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:14 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 29

Joined: 16th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: XT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I need a cam to suit my EB, what is the best cam out there. And what do they cost. I need more top end power.

 

_________________

BA XT. 20'' BSA rims ss induction. in car entertainment.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2376

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Shell with 4 wheels

Location: Richmond,
NSW, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:08 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 391

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Ride: EB falcon 5spd

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

a lot of people on here have had some good things to say about wade regrinds, but personaly im looking at a stage two crow cam.

 

_________________

1993 EBII GLI, IT'S PERFORMANCE Stage 3 engine,
XH Snorkel, K+N panel, Pacie 4480, High flow cat,
2.5" Lukey cat back system. Monroe GT Gas shocks + struts.

just dyno'd at 140.9RWKW

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 780

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Any stage two cam. Wade's are very good.

 

_________________

Not lost any demerit points

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:18 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 29

Joined: 16th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: XT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Do i need a diff computer to run it.

 

_________________

BA XT. 20'' BSA rims ss induction. in car entertainment.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

EBWPN wrote:
Do i need a diff computer to run it.


not for a stage 2 you won't. you may have issues with the idle though - i'm going through trying to sort these out now... :?

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 655

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Build# 499 BF F6 TYPHOON DEJA VU

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

go with wade cams dude

http://www.wadecams.com/

 

_________________

232.5 RW KILLER WASPS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 655

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Build# 499 BF F6 TYPHOON DEJA VU

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i have been told by some performance joins you should get the puter chipped, with any after maket cam
to correct the idle

 

_________________

232.5 RW KILLER WASPS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

memnoch wrote:
i have been told by some performance joins you should get the puter chipped, with any after maket cam
to correct the idle


the problem with the most basic chips though, is that they are expensive (min $600 new), and aren't repromgramable. they need to be sent back to be redone after every mod - at around $100 a pop, it starts to become rather expensive after a while.

if you wanted to go down that road, best bet would be to go a higher stage cam (3 & above) and get a decent system - eg an EMS or something. i'd love to go that route... but i'll be staying with a stage 2 cam, and fixing up my idle in other ways :wink:

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 655

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Build# 499 BF F6 TYPHOON DEJA VU

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah true , but won't be perfect

bloody new cars and there puters,

bring back the old V8's ,

can't beat that

do anything to them

 

_________________

232.5 RW KILLER WASPS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:07 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

yeah its a pain eh :?

i'm going to run a tickford ECU, and play around with my base idle etc to try & find a healthy mix - besides that, i'm stuffed! i can't justify that kinda $$$ for a chip :(

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 655

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Build# 499 BF F6 TYPHOON DEJA VU

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

same thing with the missus cam, shes got a street fighter cam in hers, and she has been told by heaps, to get it chipped to correct the idle, hers is all over the place

 

_________________

232.5 RW KILLER WASPS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:32 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 391

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Ride: EB falcon 5spd

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

does it realy atter it idle is wonky? it doesnt effect driving performance does it?

 

_________________

1993 EBII GLI, IT'S PERFORMANCE Stage 3 engine,
XH Snorkel, K+N panel, Pacie 4480, High flow cat,
2.5" Lukey cat back system. Monroe GT Gas shocks + struts.

just dyno'd at 140.9RWKW

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

EBeast wrote:
does it realy atter it idle is wonky? it doesnt effect driving performance does it?


well, its kinda annoying having it really hunting at times, and stalling an automatic at the lights looks kinda silly! it can be a pain when taking off on occasion if you put your foot down when the revs have dropped, but no, it doesn't affect actual performance at all. i'm just dropping it into P/N at the lights - the revs sit higher, but at least it takes a while longer for it to stall... :? although its heaps better now than it was, and hasn't stalled for a while! :P

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 655

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Build# 499 BF F6 TYPHOON DEJA VU

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

if the idle is out it will

 

_________________

232.5 RW KILLER WASPS

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:15 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names