Fordmods Logo

wiring up a switch for ISC 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: wiring up a switch for ISC
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:05 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 158

Joined: 12th Apr 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Location: East Burwood
VIC, Australia

has anyone done this so that u can turn it on for wen u start the car and then turn it off once its warmed up? how would u go about whihc wire to put the switch on?

 

_________________

Past: 150rwkw 5spd EF Futura - 4499's, 2.5" exh, Intake, Filter, Wade 1636, Head and Valve Work, Raised Comp.

Present: 5spd AUIII XR6 VCT Ute - 4480's, 2.5" exh, Tickford Intake, Pod in Box.
coming soon: 3.9:1 diff, Flashtune.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 6:12 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

pretty sure voxace has done it - maybe shoot him a PM and he'll be able to point you in the right direction :wink:

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 5:17 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

would be easy but why?

isc=idle speed controller...
it is there to help with the cars idle

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 5:36 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

they tend to make the car linger with revs instead of dropping down after revving, or inbetween gears sometimes. I would recommend putting it on a thermo switch or something... save you the hassle.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring up a switch for ISC
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:30 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 32

Joined: 25th Apr 2005

Ride: Falcon S Pak

Location: Bli Bli
QLD, Australia

Futura_XR wrote:
has anyone done this so that u can turn it on for wen u start the car and then turn it off once its warmed up? how would u go about whihc wire to put the switch on?
I have done this and it works quite well, my suggestion is find the 2 wires going to the ISC there should a red which is ingnition sourced and a wire which is controlled by the ecu, this is the wire that u must trace at the ecu and cut it about 50mm back from ecu then solder a wires to each of the cut wires and run to switch

 

 

Attachments:
small.JPG
small.JPG [ 11.19 KiB | Viewed 329 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

Dont forget that when the ISC has no power (ie is disconnected or switched off) an error code is logged with the ECU..

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

wouldnt the signal wire from the ecu be a voltage from 0 to 5 volts not just on off. i cant see why u would want to put it on a switch.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

justfordima wrote:
they tend to make the car linger with revs instead of dropping down after revving, or inbetween gears sometimes. I would recommend putting it on a thermo switch or something... save you the hassle.



Cheers


as above.. it only happens sometimes... sometimes it helps cleaning them, but other times, the ECU decides that it needs the extra revs.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ?????
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

The signal to the ISC is pulsed so that it can vary the amount of time the valve is open and so control the rpm

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:13 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

.. technically it's the ground that is "pusled".


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

got to jaycar and get an RPM switch.

have it switch on at 1500rpm.

i just leave mine unpluged all the time. Have not trouble with it at all

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You could get one of the old Bosch extra air valves.

They've got a disc with a whole in it and a bi-metallic strip. Just hooks up to 12V power. When the bi-metallic strip heats up, it slowly moves the disc closing off the hole and stopping air getting into the engine.

It's a bit of a step backwards in technology, but it does exactally what you want. I've got a couple lying round off old Lucas L-Jetronic injection systems.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 533

Joined: 12th Jan 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

tickford_6 wrote:
got to jaycar and get an RPM switch.

have it switch on at 1500rpm.

i just leave mine unpluged all the time. Have not trouble with it at all


I find it odd that an "F1 bred" ECU can't even handle an ISC correctly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

This is quite a good idea. Probably more suited to the T5 users amoungst us.

Perhaps a simple relay on one of the ISC wires? So when switched on, relay allows EEC to control ISC as per usual. When off, relay is disconnected...

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 5:43 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 371

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i had the same prob, put in a xr computer and problem solved, revs dropped nice and quickly

 

_________________

EF XR8 - 5speed, Extractors & Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names