Fordmods Logo

wondering engine temp 

 

Page 2 of 4 [ 49 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 1:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

ok then dosent realy seem to be anything to worry about then it only rises to about 93*c and the thermostat opens. but it never goes past 94*c i just thaught it mite alter the or stop the car getting into 'highway lean'mode constant variation of temprature between 88-93*c any way no big deal. thanks for replys

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 681

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII Ghia

according to the climate control in my el ghia it says my colant is around 76 to 80 and my temp gauge sits about a mm avbove the normal line
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 1826

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 1997 Falcon EL Gli/Sleeper

Location: Bayside, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

dsheps83 wrote:
according to the climate control in my el ghia it says my colant is around 76 to 80 and my temp gauge sits about a mm avbove the normal line


Yeah my EL use to do that! Usually means the Thermostat is Stuck open and also you would be using more fuel than normal. Wise to replace the Thermostat. I put an AU Ford Part one in my EL.

 

_________________

" In life their is never an Obligation just an Opportunity to..Own an awesome 1970 Ford Mach 1 Mustang! "

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 6:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 988

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: el faimont, dual fuel

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

dsheps83 wrote:
according to the climate control in my el ghia it says my colant is around 76 to 80 and my temp gauge sits about a mm avbove the normal line


how do you do that, have temp displayed on climate control.
it isn't a ghia only function is it?
thanks

 

_________________

why do u write in here.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Varing temp
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

I have an EL dash in my EA and the temptakes a long time to get up to the final temp. If I use the diagnostics it shows the temp rises to about 71 then goes down to 69. A little further the temp has risen to75 then goes down to about 71 and so on . It may take about 30 k's to get to operating temp between the A and L. I have noticed that the temp changes on going up a rise and down a rise . We are not talking hills here but as the cars attitude changes from level the temp follows the attitude only between A and L
The complete system has been cleaned and flushed and bled. So do we think this is the thermostat???
Thermo fans working correctly
I saw in a post somewhere that there are better thermostats than the standard from BLT or something, but is the cost of $37 worth it.
Soprry for the long post.

Cheers

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 906

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB2

Location: s.e suburbs
VIC, Australia

ive had two cars do this now the ea then the eb2 all brand new parts ,was told the cooling system was working to well but nothing to worry about.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 1:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 681

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII Ghia

i replaced the themostat in my car and now it gets to 90 and stay around there and the needle sits on the "A"
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 1826

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 1997 Falcon EL Gli/Sleeper

Location: Bayside, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Great. Sounds good and is all fixed now

 

_________________

" In life their is never an Obligation just an Opportunity to..Own an awesome 1970 Ford Mach 1 Mustang! "

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ok guys just took the ef mont for a drive with the diagnostics enabled, it was a gentle drive, nothing about 2500 rpm.

the diagnostics reported a constant rise and fall bewteen about 93 degrees and about 100-101 degrees..

that is, it would work upto 100ish and after a second or 2 would start to fall (woudl only stay at 100 for 10 seconds then it wouldgo down to about 93, then once again only stay there for about 10 seconds would head back to 100...

sounds like im heading out for a new thermostat?

what temp range one should i be gettin? 92 degree? i just bought myself a gregories manual, is this easy enough to change at home?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 1826

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 1997 Falcon EL Gli/Sleeper

Location: Bayside, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Yeah easy as pie. Just need a couple of open ended spanners etc Yes get a 92 degree one

 

_________________

" In life their is never an Obligation just an Opportunity to..Own an awesome 1970 Ford Mach 1 Mustang! "

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:20 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 15th Mar 2005

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

92deg is what the books say. So thet should be right and keep everything working ok.
Only take 15 mins to change. Get a new rubber o'ring when you buy the new t'stat. I like to put a smear of no.3 gasket cement an othe o'ring but it's not essential. It's one of the easiest jobs you can do. You'll lose 3 litres of coolant but if you take the top rad hose off at the rad and catch it with an icecream container or something you can re-use it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

guess the next question is..

do i buy a genuine ford thermostat? or will 1 from supercheap or repco do?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

had the same problem. Just need to bleed the coolant system properly
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

snapnscooter wrote:
You'll lose 3 litres of coolant but if you take the top rad hose off at the rad and catch it with an icecream container or something you can re-use it.


What I do is stuff a small plastic tube in the radiator cap and down into the hose that goes to the radiator tank. Then syphon some out. No loss no mess.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 47

Posts: 1826

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 1997 Falcon EL Gli/Sleeper

Location: Bayside, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Gaz wrote:
guess the next question is..

do i buy a genuine ford thermostat? or will 1 from supercheap or repco do?


When it comes to Cooling Systems, especially on I6's, I will always pay that extra and go with Ford Genuine parts. I heard that for EF & EL's it is better to put in an AU Thermostat which I have done and works well.

 

_________________

" In life their is never an Obligation just an Opportunity to..Own an awesome 1970 Ford Mach 1 Mustang! "

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 4  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:54 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names