Fordmods Logo

Worst news today 

Page 1 of 5 [ 68 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Post subject: Worst news today
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways

VIC, Australia

Hi guys

Well my beloved Ford EF Fairmont has been running pretty badly of late, changed a few things and a few things I couldnt do myself so it was time to take it to the mechanic. Nice guy and is a friend of a friend so I feel comfortable with him going through the car top to bottom.

Went to pick the car up and got the news I was dreading, apart from a few things such as, intake pipe needs replacing, new leads need to be put on, having a weak spark, need to replace the heater tap hoses and came back with the spark plugs badly corroded, which of course is due to the dam head gasket needing to be replaced. Not what I wanted to hear. Now im in a situation where I'm a student and not working much at all.

What do you guys think. Should I go down the path of getting say a EL tickford engine and getting that installed? Do you guys think that would be like getting a new car again ? ( instead of going down the path and going through the process of buying another E series ) Or should I cut my loses and get another E series and take my extractors, wheels and the trim off mine and put it on the new.

Id love to get a second hand Tickford motor but I just dont know what to do, where to look and how much I would be looking at.

Cheers guys

Post subject: Re: Worst news today
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways

daniel000 wrote:

What do you guys think. Should I go down the path of getting say a EL tickford engine and getting that installed? Do you guys think that would be like getting a new car again ?

No your car will be the same s**t box with a different old engine in it.

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU fairmont ghia

ACT, Australia

tickford_6 wrote:
daniel000 wrote: