Fordmods Logo

XR coolant tank with no sensor? 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

I was suprised when the AU XR6 engine I got only had an oil pressure switch sender insted of a gauge!

Pay extra for an XR model and you would of thought you would have got those two sensors! :(

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:20 pm 
QLD Cruise Moderator
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 407

Joined: 20th Jul 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF Ford Falcon Wagon

Location: Atkinsons Dam an hour out of Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi Ash shouldnt you have the red coolant in your car?

Alan
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:57 am 
QLD Cruise Moderator
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 407

Joined: 20th Jul 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF Ford Falcon Wagon

Location: Atkinsons Dam an hour out of Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Well i suppose the price they charge for the red stuff its cheaper to have the green stuff in them only a fraction of the price and probably do the same job.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3448

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

They stopped using the Red coolant in EL's. The Green stuff is cheaper and does the same job. We get a lot of people wanting to change to the green but don't want to remove the red stuff, not a good idea.

Those overflow tanks came in both flavours Ash, there were ones with and without sensor. I had an argument with a guy on another Ford forum and he stated categorically that series II and III didn't get them, I gave up :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3448

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

ashcook wrote:
I just thought it would have been a given that it would have them with the XR speedo cluster. :?


I believe that some got through without.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3448

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

Could be, my AU XR6 series 1 had NO PW's, the series 1.5 did. Silly if you ask me. I did the change over to PW's and it was a C*** of a job. I had to change over the main harness from the A pillar to the tail lights and make new harnesses for the front doors. It always made me laugh that my car had NO PW windows but had ABS. :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3448

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

ashcook wrote:
I could imagine in being a shocker of a job. What are they thinking making that loom one piece?


I guess so noddy's like me won't change it. :mrgreen:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:41 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 104

Joined: 9th Jul 2009

Ride: 1995 XG ute

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

how much coolant goes into a 6 cyl el? how many bottles of coolant do i need..? 2?
cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

your best bet if you are doing a radiator flush, is to use the concentrate stuff and not the pre-mix stuff.

The pre-mix is good for a top-up :|

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

984.OEL wrote:
how much coolant goes into a 6 cyl el? how many bottles of coolant do i need..? 2?
cheers


Go out and buy a Gregorys or similar manual for your car.

All these sort of details are in there.

This will become one of the most important parts of your toolkit in the end.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:36 pm 
QLD Cruise Moderator
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 407

Joined: 20th Jul 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF Ford Falcon Wagon

Location: Atkinsons Dam an hour out of Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Quote:
Go out and buy a Gregorys or similar manual for your car.

All these sort of details are in there.

This will become one of the most important parts of your toolkit in the end.


My two cents worth :

Wrong i think this Forum is the most Important tool kit for your car great info and so many people only to willing to help each other.
:D Alan
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:44 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

984.OEL wrote:
how much coolant goes into a 6 cyl el? how many bottles of coolant do i need..? 2?
cheers


usually 5 ltrs of concentrate with water will do a complete cooling system refill..


i noticed on narelles au2 futura it has front power window abs, cruise control ect.
but no coolant sensor or washer bottle sensor..

but the ed futura with pretty much the same options has the coolant sensor and washer bottle sensor.. :?
were ford becoming tight asses or getting lazy..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:00 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

ashcook wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
were ford becoming tight asses or getting lazy..


They most definitely were with engine bay paint. :roll:


yea i noticed that aswell..
the exterior has a nice metallic paint but the engine bay is satin black.. :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 104

Joined: 9th Jul 2009

Ride: 1995 XG ute

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

BenJ wrote:
984.OEL wrote:
how much coolant goes into a 6 cyl el? how many bottles of coolant do i need..? 2?
cheers


Go out and buy a Gregorys or similar manual for your car.

All these sort of details are in there.

This will become one of the most important parts of your toolkit in the end.

BenJ

i have 5 ltrs of nulon long life..
i'm actually more concerned with bleed process..
have a manual, but it is a bit vague... don't wanna over heat with cap off. or run too hard with air pockets/overfill... am replacing overflow tank from last attempted bleed. mate put a hole in the overflow....!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR coolant tank with no sensor?
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

how did he manage to put a hole in the resivour? :shock:

Anyways, what i usually do, which i think is what most people do, is to fill up the resivour with coolant and water and then idle the car with the cap and the heater on full and then just keep topping up till it is full and get to normal operating temps. Once at normal operating temps, put on cap and your done

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot], Google [Bot] and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:36 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names