Fordmods Logo

xr6 turbo in eb 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: xr6 turbo in eb
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 9:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 7

Joined: 1st Aug 2005

Ride: falcon

Location: Burnie
TAS, Australia

does anyone know if a ba xr6 turo motor will bolt strait into an eb?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Well ... it fits into an EL alright (with sump and bonnet modifications), then by all means it should fit into an EB. The BA head is a lot higher than the EB so you will need to add a bonnet bulge or cut a hole for the engine to fit ... also bear in mind you will need some sort of aftermarket engine management to run the VCT :wink: .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 12:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 972

Joined: 6th Feb 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XHII pano, Landau

Location: S.E Subs
VIC, Australia

what do u plan with doing about the fly-by-wire acceleration thingy?

 

_________________

Automatics only come in assult riffles
---------------------------------------
www.aussiecoupes.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:10 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I assume the same thing JETXR did with the EL, whatever that might be... ? Does the Fly-by-wire throttle go through the ECU or is it some sort of voltage measure straight to throttle body?

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 972

Joined: 6th Feb 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XHII pano, Landau

Location: S.E Subs
VIC, Australia

I read in a mag that Jet XR used XF throttle boddies?? do u remember something along those lines?

 

_________________

Automatics only come in assult riffles
---------------------------------------
www.aussiecoupes.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

To answer the question - No it doesnt bolt right in.

You can however make it work it you have a s**t load of cash.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 12:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

why does it not fit? out of interest?

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 516

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Motec M400, M600 or M800 are the only aftermaket ECU's that can controll the electronic throttle and VCT. But they start around $2600 + tuning which will be considerable since you now have to map the electronic throttle and Dual VCT.

Another option is to use a cheaper ECU. then revert to a older cable throttle body and somehow lock the VCT in a fixed position. You will of course loose some performance this way.

Or you could try and install the BA PCM (they have one computer for everything) get a manual unless you want to try the auto box aswell but you will be chasing your tail with problems. The cost of a full re-wire will be considerable and there are unknowns about how the BA ecu will interface with smartlock, and BEM.

 

_________________

Manual EL Gli.
Mods: Crow Stg3, Chiptorque Dynotune. Lukey Exhaust. DBA slotted rotors, EBC Pads. Whiteline Low Susp. EL GT Swaybars, ROH Envy 17 x235 wheels. Vehicle Datalogger Display V2.0,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:48 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

nicco wrote:
why does it not fit? out of interest?

The DOHC head is mucho higher then SOHC head. Check the shape of BA bonnet compared to an E-Series. But other then all the ECU problems you'll encounter (which are numerous as Spork said), it "fits".

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 7:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Will be alot easier to turbo the EB motor... but the BA motor would be awesome. I say have a go at it, then we will all know if it does go in... cos if it does, I'm gonna do it :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 7:52 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I would even like to see a NA BA motor in a E series... would be nucking futs.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 1:24 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 16th Jun 2005

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
I would even like to see a NA BA motor in a E series... would be nucking futs.


Yeah I'd love to see what quarter mile times you could run with a BA stocker in an E-series! You can pick up stacked XT's at the auctions pretty cheap but the costs of getting it up and running would make it unfeasable I'd imagine......like someone else said, better off turboing an E-series motor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 5:08 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Off topic, but I read somewhere that the BA VCT on each cam isn't done individually? Apparently there is provision for individual control but it isn't used?
Would be interesting to see what sort of gains could be had with aftermarket ECU providing individual control (if it's actually possible..).

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names