Fordmods Logo

You guys reckon this is too expensive? 

 

Page 3 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

 
Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 839

Joined: 10th Sep 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: V8 Falcon, Nissan Patrol

Location: Brisbane, Bouncing off 5800RPM
QLD, Australia

No, speed gear signal goes to cluster then to ecu and/or cruise control.

 

_________________

1993 Ford Fairmont EB II 5.0L V8 Wagon
1992 Nissan Patrol TI 4.2L Diesel 4x4 Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

kstevo wrote:
so in the ef/el computer the speedo relays the info back to tell it when to shift gears?


The speedo gear in the box sends a signal to the speedo via "speedo input wire" (pin 4 right hand side cluster connecter)

Then the signal is sent from the cluster to the ECU via "speedo output wire" (pin 5 right hand side cluster connecter)

When changing diff ratios, the shifts will remain normal, but the speedo will be out. But if you correct the speedo, then the ECU will see the wrong signal and shift points are wrong..... hence the reason for fitting a speedo corrector on both input & output wires to correct signal then change it back for the ecu.

Or could try with one single corrector with my theory with my post before.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:36 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 273

Joined: 5th Apr 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: In ya dot NSW,
QLD, Australia

FordFairmont wrote:
kstevo wrote:
so in the ef/el computer the speedo relays the info back to tell it when to shift gears?


The speedo gear in the box sends a signal to the speedo via "speedo input wire" (pin 4 right hand side cluster connecter)

Then the signal is sent from the cluster to the ECU via "speedo output wire" (pin 5 right hand side cluster connecter)

When changing diff ratios, the shifts will remain normal, but the speedo will be out. But if you correct the speedo, then the ECU will see the wrong signal and shift points are wrong..... hence the reason for fitting a speedo corrector on both input & output wires to correct signal then change it back for the ecu.

Or could try with one single corrector with my theory with my post before.


Thanks mate, understand fully now.

 

_________________

USER BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: You guys reckon this is too expensive?
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 1:37 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 1

Joined: 19th Sep 2009

Ride: Skyline GTR

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Steer clear guys ... this guy is cheap and rough!

He tuned my Skyline RB25T to breaking point and broke it. Lied about head work that wasn't done and basically cost me a new engine.

He sounds like he knows what he's on about but he's DODGY! :x
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names