Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Post subject: 4" question
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:17 pm 
Smokin em up

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: XR6 XH Ute

VIC, Australia

hi guys

just picked up four pioneer 4inch kevlar 2-ways(ts-e1076) for my xh ute.

i'm not a stereo expert but basically i want to run them of my 200watt freebie boss amp. I had four clarion four inch's hooked up in this manner and they couldn't handle it. for example my head unit goes to 37 they didn't make it past 22 without it sounding like two bits of plastic being smacked together. they were $50 speakers though

basically i just want to make sure this will work fine and not kill the speakers or give the same result.

any comments are welcome, i know i'm probably being paranoid but not an expert and better to be safe than sorry

cheers
ben

Post subject: Re: 4" question
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:51 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

TAS, Australia

XH XR6 wrote:
my head unit goes to 37 they didn't make it past 22 without it sounding like two bits of plastic being smacked together.

just drop the levels on the amp - it was probably overpowering the speakers!

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:09 am 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: '98 EL Fairmont

VIC, Australia

4" speakers aren't generally going to handle alot of power. They are usually used in conjuction with bigger speakers to run the higher frequencies.

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:41 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

WA, Australia

As said above the speakers were most likely distorting due to be over powered.

If the amp has a gain adjustment you may want to reduce this.