Fordmods Logo

Adding extra amp to el premium system 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Adding extra amp to el premium system
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:59 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 26

Joined: 12th Jun 2005

Ride: EBII GLi

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have a el fairmont ghia with the premium system.
I also have a sub and amp laying around i want to wire up.

Because the factory amp runs both the sub and rear speakers i was looking to keeping this as is and running the other amp/sub seperately.

Can i run 2 amps off the one rca line?
My other amp has 2 rca outputs. low input and line out.

This is how im thinking how it should be done.. please tell me if im wrong

Factory rca -> Low input(2nd amp) then line out(2nd amp) -> factory amp.
Would this be correct?

 

_________________

94 ED GLi - RIP
92 180sx - Sold
93 EBII GLi - Now wreaking. email me at plappen@bigpond.net.au for parts
97 EL Fairmont Ghia - New daily
01 Suzuki GSX-R750 - Weekend toy

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

That would work providing that you run a new power feed for the extra amp with correct fusing etc....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I was going to do the same thing as well. Took my thread o well i'll just watch this one :)

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I run a monoblock sub amp directly off the factory power terminals with an extra earth only, no problems. But generally I have the fuse out of the factory amp running no rear speakers at all- they sound terrible!

It might be just my preference, but my system sounds much better with only sub and front splits running. Rear fill just seems to kill the sound quality in these cars. I like my soundstage at the front, but I'm not a doof doof guy either...:P

Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

V8 Ghia Mike wrote:


It might be just my preference, but my system sounds much better with only sub and front splits running. Rear fill just seems to kill the sound quality in these cars. I like my soundstage at the front, but I'm not a doof doof guy either...:P

Mike


+1, thats how i run mine, sounds heaps good.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names