Fordmods Logo

Adding sub to BA premo 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Adding sub to BA premo
Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 5:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 9

Joined: 8th Mar 2010

Ride: Ba 2 xr6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Im Looking at adding a sub+amp to my ba xr6 with premium sound.. While still remaining factory cd player

Was hopin that i could just take the wires from the factory amp (the ones that run to the factory sub) and connect them to the high level input on my amp (kenwood 1800 watt monoblock)

Any body have any reasons why this would not work??

would only need to connect power and ground wires as the amp has signal sensing turn on...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding sub to BA premo
Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 6:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

your factory amp power will be too small. You will need to install a new power wire

Add up all the fuses on the amp and if it below 54 amps total run 8 gauge power wire and if the total is between 54 and 110 run 4 gauge wire while your at it install a earth lead the same gauge wire as you end up using for the power wire

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding sub to BA premo
Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 6:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 688

Joined: 4th Mar 2010

Ride: BF Fairmont Ghia & TS Magna

Location: central coast
NSW, Australia

ounds like this thread http://www.fordmods.com/ford-audio-visual-f5/sub-amp-not-enough-power-t91082.html again LOL

cheers bear

 

_________________

I don't know what to write in here LOL
Bear's Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding sub to BA premo
Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 2:20 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 9

Joined: 8th Mar 2010

Ride: Ba 2 xr6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The issue with power f0r the amp is fine.. Have a couple of meter of 0 gauge that i got off and auto elec mate which will pwer the aftermarket amp seperatly

Im more worried about the actual input running from the factory sub output into the aftermarket sub input E.g what levels come out of fact. amp, any pass filters imposed on signal?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding sub to BA premo
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 12:36 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 129

Joined: 27th Mar 2010

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: BA MKII XR8 + AUIII XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Run new power/remote/ground form the amp and split off the rear speakers with line convertors to run rca's into the new amp.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding sub to BA premo
Posted: Mon May 17, 2010 5:05 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 184

Joined: 19th Oct 2009

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

TIAMO wrote:
Run new power/remote/ground form the amp and split off the rear speakers with line convertors to run rca's into the new amp.


Ok well i did the whole split off the rear speakers with line convertors to run rca's while still keeping my rear speakers and having a sub. You would be much better off doing the line split from the factory amp output wires. Theres someone else who did this on the forums too. Reason why i say this is because its like anything else if you split the signal you also loose signal aswell as what i found. The rears were much quieter than the fronts.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding sub to BA premo
Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 133

Joined: 30th May 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef falon + xk falcon

Location: gympie
QLD, Australia

also if you end out splitting speaker wires your better off goin with the front ones as they hav a wider range of frequency's coming out than the back lines

 

_________________

i hate it when its raining, makes my left foot slip off the clutch all the time

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names