Fordmods Logo

aftermarket head unit in ba 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: aftermarket head unit in ba
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 7

Joined: 2nd Jan 2005

Ride: ba fairmont ghia

Location: mona vale
NSW, Australia

been thinking about an after market headunit for ba which is wma/mp3 capatible (sick of hooking up my ipod) and thought if i used the aux connector for sound and cigarette lighter for power then it would be an easy way around the wiring any thoughts???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:52 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

just put a sick one in
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:33 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 8

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Territory

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I did this for my DVD player in my Territory... works good!
Where are you going to mount it though? Under the ICC near the tissue box is popular, I put mine in my glove box.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: aftermarket head unit in ba
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 8:50 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 7

Joined: 2nd Jan 2005

Ride: ba fairmont ghia

Location: mona vale
NSW, Australia

yeah i was thinking of the tissue box location I never use it, any idea where i'd get the dvd interface for the screen stores where i am don't seem to have it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: aftermarket head unit in ba
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 11:47 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 7

Joined: 2nd Jan 2005

Ride: ba fairmont ghia

Location: mona vale
NSW, Australia

gweagles wrote:
yeah i was thinking of the tissue box location I never use it, any idea where i'd get the dvd interface for the screen stores where i am don't seem to have it


thanks for no help at all managed to find an adapter and installed myself
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

still seems to be a bit of an unknown area? what is the dvd interface for? i also have a ba and arent quite sure what to do with the stereo.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 1:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 7

Joined: 2nd Jan 2005

Ride: ba fairmont ghia

Location: mona vale
NSW, Australia

na2fairlane wrote:
still seems to be a bit of an unknown area? what is the dvd interface for? i also have a ba and arent quite sure what to do with the stereo.

I bought an interface along with a dvd on ebay everything just plugs in under the dash and into the factory steroe works great
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 4:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

before the crash last year there had been some significant work done on an adapter, but all the work (and it seems the members responsible) were lost with the crash

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

I wouldn't bother changing the stereo to aftermarket head units - try upgrading to a premium sound system pack with six stacker.

Aftermarket HU can be a nightmare to remove and then attempting to put the car back to stock form........

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:25 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 4653

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Drives Like Fun

Power: 318 rwkw

Location: Melbourne Interior: Cappucino Exterior: Sparkling Burgundy
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

would it be possible to hook up a seperate MP3 HU in the tissue holder slot and hook it upto the auxillary cable so you keep the original system but have an additional MP3 player just like a ipod but one that turns on with your key and retains track memory? you would maybe have to cut the aux cable and solder rca input or something?

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:53 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 4653

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Drives Like Fun

Power: 318 rwkw

Location: Melbourne Interior: Cappucino Exterior: Sparkling Burgundy
VIC, Australia

Yes, people have done that - I'd recommend jumping on CAA (Car Audio Australia) if you're not already a member on there - there are a few members who have done it...one Blueprint XR6 that came to the CAA Christmas Cruise last year had a neat setup...I think it was a sponsored car from memory *shrugs*

 

_________________

Vic Cruises & Events

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:49 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 40

Joined: 22nd Nov 2005

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

Blaupunkt had an awesome dvd plug in unit for the Premium sound...not sure if that helps ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

well i bought a sub and amp the other day and a line out converter and its working good. the guy i spoke to at alberts morley showed me their new ba and it had the head unit in that location. it would be better to get a new head unit but for now it was only $30 so it will do the job for now. i pulled out that tissue box holder thing so i could use the the power socket as the trigger for the amp.anyway there is plenty of room to mount a head unit in that space. looks like an easy job. there is also still room under the head unit so i can still use that space to put things.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 657

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Eastern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

i was thinking of running the top of the line JVC DVD unit to the premium sound ICC for visuals (dvd on screen) and run the sound directly from the JVC unit mounted in the tissue box hole :)

seems pretty simple to me, i'm yet to do it tho!

 

_________________

2003 BA XR6T 5spd Manual PHANTOM
Custom Leather, 20" Kaotiks, Lowered, Exhaust, DVD System, BOV
Plenty more to come!

Member: Team Can't Stop The Doof Doof

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:39 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names