Fordmods Logo

alarm - any good? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: alarm - any good?
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 11:50 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

Ok people i am organising a massive group buy for 10 to 20 odd items. I need at least 2 orders from each forum im posting on to get these alarms at this price.

Here are the specifications of the alarms and its features:

Specification
01. Communication :FM 2-WAY
02. Operating frequency : FM447.675MHz
03. Modulation type : FSK
04. Modulation deviation : STD 3KHz
05. Dimension of remote control (L * W * H) : 55 * 34 * 19mm
06. Weight (W/Bat.) of R/C : 40g
07. Battery size (lpc) of R/C : AAA 1.5V
08. Battery life of R/C : 3 MONTH
09. Channel spacing of R/C : 12.5KHz
10. Antenna impedance of R/C : 50?
11. Antenna impedance of transceiver : 50?
12. Antenna length of R/C : 16mm
13. Antenna length of transceiver : 80mm
14. CPU design : MICROCHIP
15. Frequency stability : ±5ppm(-10? ~ +50?)
16. Frequency deviation : ±2.0KHz
17. Output RF power : 5mW MAX
18. RF Sensitivity : -120dBm
19. RF Operating range(OPEN FIELD) : 3 KM(up to 3000ft)
20. Operating temperature : -20? ~ +70?

Features
* Remote arming, disarming and panic
* Up to 3000FT remote control range (FM modulation)
* User EEPROM storage different code
* Multi-function 5 button remote transmitter & pager
* Audible and visual arming/disarming
* Remote controlled door lock/unlock
* Automatic rearming and last door arming
* Chirp or no chirp confirmation by remote
* Engine idling time(while remote engine started) adjustable by remote
* Valet emergency override by valet switch
* 30 seconds siren duration with auto-reset
* Aux. Output for Window roll-up
* Ignition controlled door lock/unlock
* Dome light supervision output
* 2nd Ignition negative output for bypass module
* Remote Control trunk release output
* Electronic 2-stage shock sensor
* Multi-function LED status indicator
* Instant negative/positive door trigger programmable
* Remote engine start
* Remote engine starting reservation for manual transmission
* Turbo timer
* Automatic heater /AC operation
* Multi-function paging operation of transmitter
* Two-way transmitter(transmitting & pager)
* Indicator of "within" or "out of" RF range
* Variable graphic icon?s LCD panel
* Car status indicator by LCD display & beeper
* Driver call sensor
* Programmable personal alarm clock
* 2 warning stickers & easy operation manual
* High power 6-tone siren
* Built-in hazard lights relay
* Keyless entry in valet mode
* Starter disable output
* Built in remote engine starter

i can get it for $300 - plus $100 install - sound ok? :?

i know nothing about alarms!

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 675

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Sounds pretty decent... im assuming it has a LCD display on the remote, all the really usefull features seem to all there... pics?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:12 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

http://splee777.en.ecplaza.net/11.asp

all i could find :?

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

bit big a remote to start carrying around init Fraser? They got a smaller model ?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:20 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

Happy wrote:
bit big a remote to start carrying around init Fraser? They got a smaller model ?


my thoughts too - i'll just end up breaking the screen or spilling beer on it :roll:

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 675

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

yeh its a slight bit to thick me thinks...length and width seem not bad.... any thing smaller uglybob?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

it was offered as part of a group buy, so i might leave it & look for something smaller :wink:

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

yeah sounds like a alright system but yeah that remogte looks a bit chunky. but has all the good options...


what other items ya thinking if ordering?

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:13 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Don't be fooled by the pic on the box, it looks a lot bigger there...

I got the PageGuard 6000 (the model below that one) it has the same functionallity as that one but the remote doesn't have the flashy LCD Colour screen.

I got mine on e-Bay for $280 and fitted it myself (what a b**ch) for $100 I'd have got someone else to do it but was quoted 4-500 bucks.. :evil:

I had to do a few mods to get things like Remote Start, Auto Window Wind-up so I don't know how they would do it for $100.

The remote in the pic is the same size as mine so here's a pic to show the 'real world' size.

Image

If people are interested I guess I could spend a bit of time and write up an install doco on mine and try and make it as generic as possible.
But I can tell you now you want to be handy with a Multimeter to attempt putting one of these in.. :D

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:15 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

whats the actual alarm like? any good?

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:18 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

uglybob wrote:
whats the actual alarm like? any good?



Well it's about as good as anything around that price I guess and everything they stated about functionality is all there.

I had to do a bit of fiddling about to get everything working the way I wanted it to (the instructions for how the unit operates are a bit vague) but trial and error sorts all out in the end.

So I'm happy with the way the unit works, only had one false alarm when the shock sensor went off after a big clap of thunder :lol: but the two things I like best are the remote start (with climate control start 5mins before you head off and it's always the right temp. hehe.)
And the auto window wind up. Unless its raining I just about always leave a window or two open when I'm parked in my driveway and of course later I always had to go out to the car with the keys to wind 'em up but now 1 press and the cars armed and all the windows go up. :D :D

I've had it in the car for about 6mths and I wouldn't be without one now. Probably more for the sloth features than the security as I have secure parking at work and home, but seeing as Smartlock is useless for d**k breaking into your car and not hard to bypass to take the whole car :evil: I wanted something that at least is a little harder to get in..

But in all I think its a good unit for the price (its made in Korea but I've had the cover off and the quality of the soldering, etc is pretty good) so I'd recomend it :o :D

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 675

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hmmmm....sounds like a not bad little unit, esp for price wise too, what do u think uglybob, Group Buy?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Remote Alarm
Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 11:09 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 63

Posts: 12

Joined: 11th Mar 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

NF. Hats off to you for self installing one of those things. I bought one on Ebay for about $120 or so last year for my NC with all the enthusiasm in the world thinking how great it would be to have those nice features you mention.

Its chineese. Came from Hong Kong. Looks good but soon as I got a look at the number of wires etc on the thing I freaked and havnt got round to making a start.

It even has a wire that has to be wrapped round the primary HT lead on the coil??? Wots that for?

Oh and... the instruction book is almost unintelligable with instructions like

"When caution to the wire install of remote system or innoperative circuit function"

Cam
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Remote Alarm
Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

cam245 wrote:
NF. Hats off to you for self installing one of those things. I bought one on Ebay for about $120 or so last year for my NC with all the enthusiasm in the world thinking how great it would be to have those nice features you mention.

Its chineese. Came from Hong Kong. Looks good but soon as I got a look at the number of wires etc on the thing I freaked and havnt got round to making a start.

It even has a wire that has to be wrapped round the primary HT lead on the coil??? Wots that for?


:shock: :shock: :shock: I have no idea whatsoever, nothing like that on mine.

cam245 wrote:
Oh and... the instruction book is almost unintelligable with instructions like

"When caution to the wire install of remote system or innoperative circuit function"

Cam


Hahahahaha... :oops: Sorry, not laughing at you but I've had to deal with instructions like that before :? .

I got my unit from a guy here in Aus who also installed them so he was quite helpfull in explaining a few of the odd terms mentioned in my little install booklet. :roll:
I only gave it a go cause I'm an electronics tech and compared to some of the stuff I have to work on this looked pretty easy (I was able to view the manual on the web before I got it).
It still took me about 4 days to get everything working the way I wanted and a few small interface boards to hook into Ford's way of doing things.

Two things I wouldn't have tried this without.
1. My trusy Fluke DMM.
2. The Factory Manual for my car.. :D

Ohhhh and a good dose of patience (or Jim Beam in my case). :lol: :lol:

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Hey Nfghia
How did you go with bypasisngs martlock for remote start - did you get a petroject box?

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:02 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names