Fordmods Logo

alarm install 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: alarm install
Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 491

Joined: 19th May 2007

Ride: fairmont ED

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Im planning on getting a basic (<$250) alarm installed next month.

I was just wondering when they install it, do they disconnect the smart lock and immobilizer that came standard on the vehicle (fairmont ed) and replace it with the new alarm.

When speaking to an installer at desire, he just told me to use the new alarms remote to unlock doors and boot..but im not sure about the immobilizer (do they only use one, or both?) if they disconnect the original one, it means i won't get the flashing red light on the dash right?


also can anyone recommend a good place to supply and install my alarm (in sydney, around liverpool)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

depenmds on each alarm system and the installer. i installed my own and just tapped into the BEM wires that it needed signals from

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: alarm install
Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

jjohnno wrote:
Im planning on getting a basic (<$250) alarm installed next month.

I was just wondering when they install it, do they disconnect the smart lock and immobilizer that came standard on the vehicle (fairmont ed) and replace it with the new alarm.

When speaking to an installer at desire, he just told me to use the new alarms remote to unlock doors and boot..but im not sure about the immobilizer (do they only use one, or both?) if they disconnect the original one, it means i won't get the flashing red light on the dash right?


also can anyone recommend a good place to supply and install my alarm (in sydney, around liverpool)


no they should not disconnect the smart lock and immobilizer, they should not need to touch it, when they install it the new alarm it will use its own type of immobilizer and you will also use the one that cam with the smart lock.

a mate of mine had a stock as a rock ED and it hads a aftermarket allarm and he still retains the smartlock and its immobilizer.

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 3:48 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 28

Joined: 14th Apr 2007

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: NA,AU XR6,ZH,P6 LTD,EXPLORER

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

they dont bypass smartlock they fit a alarm upgrade kit that connects to your factory system

 

_________________

MAYBE YOU WOULD RATHER PUSH YOUR HOLDEN THAN DRIVE MY FORD AND YOU WILL PROBLY NEED TO.
H.O.L.D.E.N
HOPE
OUR
LUCK
DOESN'T
END
NOW

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:03 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names