alpine subs and amps 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: alpine subs and amps
Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:42 pm 
Stock as a Rock

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL XR6

VIC, Australia

i just have a quick question, im looking at 2 SWR - 1222D subs to install in my boot but was told that id need 2 amps to drive em when one MRD - M1005 has the capacity to drive both. now i am a newby to all this sorta thing so im learning but am i able to power both subs off the one mono-block amp?? also, who would i talk to about gettin a custom sub box made up so i could mount them between the shockers in the boot?? any help is good help thanx guys

EL XR6, 5 Speed Manual, Extractors, Exhaust, 3" Intake, EL GT Intake, Alpine sound system,lowered, 136rwkw.. to come.. another sub and boot install

Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:02 pm 
Fordmods Junkie

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

VIC, Australia

Okay I am not a professional but I'll give it a stab. The monoblock can produce 1000W RMS @ 2 Ohms, but that is at 14.4V which in reality does not occur in the car. At 12V this amp only produces 700W RMS which is close to the real power you are going to get out of the amp. When the car is on though you will get a slight power increase since it would be run at 13.3V or something. To power the 2 x DVC subs to their full potential you are going to need at least 1000W RMS I think. You can still run the subs off the amp, though the amp will struggle to meet the demands of the subs.

Anyways long story short...you would need either a more power amp or you will need to get 2 amps as someone has suggested...it will work out cheaper and easier if you get a larger monoblock I think and if memory serves me right someone is selling a pretty strong amp enough to power the 2 subs.

And with the install. Sorry dude don't know anyone...unless you want to ask Pyroay or BigKev or some other audio geeks :P if they have spare time to make you a box.