Fordmods Logo

Alternator whine 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Alternator whine
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

Ok so, im trying to investigate the alternator whine in my system.
When engine is off, no noise, all is perfect.
Using alternate rca source (ie my ipod into the rcas) when the engine is running, no noise. I plugged them in right behind the headunit, to find out whether or not the RCAs are causing the issue.

Ive got Alpine 9811 -> Audiocontrol 6XS -> 2x amps running active focal components.

When the headunit is the source, the noise is horrible.
I ran a new thicker earth, to the chassis, didnt make a difference.
Ive also tried tapping the power source from the UHF wiring, which is 10A cable straight to the battery.
What else can i try ?
Im just hoping its not the headunit itself, as i like it and dont really want to have to upgrade.

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

hmm, so a closer inspection revealed that even with no source connected, there is still a really faint whine.

so i guess its a complete re-wire time :(

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:53 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ohh s**t..

what about a noise suppresion on the alt...
or a new flashy alt

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

do noise supressors actually work ?

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:51 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ch0c0 wrote:
do noise supressors actually work ?


every time i have used them both passive and active yes

1 old kingswood
2 dads XE and his XF

but.. been told for audio clarity they are a bad idea...
i have no idea as i have never had a stteza that good
might be an easyier way than rewiring the whoel stezza and still have the whine...

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

rewire isnt that hard, will just take a day or 2.
strip out all the seats and carpet
and lay cables again, ensuring that they are all away from one another. :)

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 3:03 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ch0c0 wrote:
rewire isnt that hard, will just take a day or 2.
strip out all the seats and carpet
and lay cables again, ensuring that they are all away from one another. :)


mm or a $5 part and 5 mins work....

as far as i know u need the amp power lines and speaker cables as far apart as possible...


have u tried a new dedicated power supply for the deck at least 15amps and fused of course and say 6-8mm wire? and same sized wire for earth

also add eextra earth from boy to battery 8mm or so

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

yeh i connected the deck to my UHF wiring harness to see if it made a difference, which is 15A cable.

Did nothing.
I might try a noise supressor maybe, but the re-wire is really on the cards anyway

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 2:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

So
after some further investigation, it appears that the Audiocontrol 6xs is the problem
When i bypass it, the noise goes away.

Ive tried everything, running power and earth to battery, local earth, piggybacked to another amp just to be sure, and the noise is still there.


Any ideas ?

I hope the crossover itself isnt dead, or someone on these forums will be getting an earful from me.

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

So.
The crossover is going to go into another car in the next couple of days, and we will see what happens then.

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:32 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names