Fordmods Logo

Amp locations 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Amp locations
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 6:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Is it possible to attach an amp directly to the back of a sub box? or will the bass/rattles damage the amp?


cheers

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 8:27 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 365

Joined: 14th Feb 2006

Ride: BA falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

yes it is, i was in autobarn yesturday and they had a 15" sub in a box with the amp screwed in on the side of the box. so i guess it is possible.

 

_________________

Real Men Smoke Rubber

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 8:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 420

Joined: 30th May 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

not the best idea afaik
and autobarn are a bunch of hacks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

I wouldn't put on the box depending on the size you could put it inbetween your rear shock towers thats where mine are I've got two 4 channel acoustic amps in there.

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 662

Joined: 4th Sep 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: Riddells Creek
VIC, Australia

yeah not really the best idea!! better to have them seperate unless it is bolted in and also the viabrations cant be any good either!! and yes autobarn are normally a bunch of hacks but they are good to go and listen to them talk about fuly sick stuff!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:07 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 49

Joined: 15th Sep 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

anything is possible...u just gotta do it right

 

_________________

BA XL Ute, 17' Akuza's, Headers exhaust, Alpine audio.

www.supascapes.net.au
www.premiumrt.co.nr

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:22 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11738

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well I have placed my amp on the same board as my free air sub and it rattled the s**t out of the amp so i relocated it....but that was for my previous set up. Now i have it on the same board as the sub but the sub is not connected...rather im using my brother-in-law's boxed sub for the time being :P.

I haven't heard people having any issues about amps breaking down because it was placed on a sub box, though I recommend you seperate the two just for the sake of it.

But if you want to save room I guess you could just slap it on the back.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:05 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 315

Joined: 7th Oct 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

I've never heard of anyone having troubles with mounting an amp to the back of the box but make sure there is good ventilation.

Amps are designed to work under these environments and situations its how they r made.

You shouldn't have any troubles aye

 

_________________

84 XF Falcon S Pak, 250 crossflow (rebuilt ~5000km ago, carby model), Bored out 30 thou, Crow racing cam, extractors, yokohama 245's all the way round, chrome 12 slotters, lowered, 4spd man, open wheeler (blew my lsd...), Thumping sound system, L.E.D's everywhere

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh, too late, i got bored waiting for answers, its now on the back of the box :D

it should be ok, my amp is designed to be mounted with 2 metal arms which clip into the amp, so you can psycially put your hand between it and the box.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 7:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The majority of middlestream car audio amplifier brands are very resilient to all the extremeties. Most are very good at withstanding a crazy amount of vibrations....theres isnt any great day more of vibrations to an amp mounted on the woofer box or in a false floor infront of the amp.

I have 2x Alpine 2 Channels (anyone wanna buy em lol) that have been running awesome for ages mounted to the rear of a sealed sub box where the dual 12"s are mounted inverted external to the box and fire into the box aimed at the rear box wall that the amps are mounted on....have had no issues, no rattles etc..

..so in simple terms unless u have bought cheap s**t where they may have dodged on things like proper heat disapation and shock absorbotion then your amps will be fine mounted to a sub bo0x/enclosure

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 8:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 598

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Modified EA-S Falcon

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Southern Highlands
NSW, Australia

in all the cars i have ever worked on and also my own, ive never heard of vibration killing an amp, they are designed to take the full extremes of possible application (except water of cause). my two mofo amps are on a backboard which is mounted onto the back of my sealed sub box with my 2 12"s in individual compartments. never had a problem.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: 2nd May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Is it dangerous to have amps near an LPG tank in the boot?
I mean within 15 cm of the actual tank!

 

_________________

FG G6E Turbo
Grandpa Spec!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 1:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh cheers, its a cadence amp, seems very sturdy and heavy :P

ill get a few photos up of the new boot install soon.

im pretty happy considering it was a 1 afternoon effort :P theres just a few pieces to fix, up, probably wont ever fix it though haha.

1 last question, the sub box is up under the parcel shelf, but its got a bit of movement in it. How does everyone secure their sub boxes so they dont move around?

overall im happy, ive probably trippled my boot space over the last one.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:34 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 176

Joined: 21st Mar 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: AU Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Gaz wrote:
1 last question, the sub box is up under the parcel shelf, but its got a bit of movement in it. How does everyone secure their sub boxes so they dont move around?


Before I got my LPG tank I had my box in the same spot (on my AU) and actually had it bolted to the chassis (I was working at Carousel at the time lol).

Just got underneath the car and looked for a couple of holes, punched through the carpet, drilled corresponding holes into the sub box and bolted her in. Wasn't very practical for removing, but it certainly didn't move around anymore! :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:41 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names